A Story of Humiliation

gatherings-bag.jpg

This is the final bag in my order of 3 bags for mother’s day (all for the same mom!). I’m really not good at pairing fabrics together – especially 2 prints so when I came up with this combo, I was so thrilled – this is actually the 4th bag out of this fabric combo – none of which were for me.

Some of you know that I am half Chinese. I grew up in Taiwan, and after college in the US, moved back to Taiwan to be a gymnastics instructor. I taught expat American kids, Chinese kids, and a group of Japanese kids, since there was a Japanese school across from where I coached. Did I mention also that I waited tables at a Korean restaurant in college? I consider myself pretty well exposed to Asian cultures and have often “known” when seeing an Asian person where they are from – Vietnam, China, Taiwan, Japan, Korea, etc. So when I came across this test at http://www.alllooksame.com/ I was sure that I would ACE it! I took it last night and scored a 7 out of 18 which means basically that I have NO CLUE. I had my sweet hubby take it as well and he scored a 3 which means that he’s so bad that it’s really difficult to score that poorly. I’m humiliated. I’m so bad at this that this morning, when I woke up and looked in the mirror, I thought for sure that I looked Japanese. I’d love to know how you score!

16 Responses to “A Story of Humiliation”


  1. 1 sue b April 28, 2006 at 8:36 am

    Those two fabrics are perfect together. I like the strip of the calico on the front of the bag to break up the print – nicely done !

  2. 2 RANDI April 28, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Great purse!

    Your test results paragraph cracked me up! I am sure that my score would be somewhere along the lines of your hubby!

    I am going to Cindys blog now!

  3. 3 Cathy April 28, 2006 at 9:42 am

    I’ve like all your fabric choices that I’ve seen so far! This one looks great too.

    I took the test and scored 5. I realized after I clicked a couple that I put the wrong answer but basically I was guessing. Maybe you would get a better score if some of these people weren’t making faces, or if you saw them in person. Sometimes an animated face will tell you more.

  4. 4 Anonymous April 28, 2006 at 10:01 am

    I’m with Cathy! I think it is hard to tell when you just see the faces. It might help to see them walking by or even hear them talking. I am humiliated too. You, at least, got 7. I scored 6!

  5. 5 kimberly April 28, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    I took the test and scored 9 out of 18. Not bad for having no clue at all. My hubby is taking it right now and we’ll see what he scores.
    I love that fabric you chose for that purse. But then that’s no surprise.
    He got a whopping 5. Hehe

  6. 6 Angela April 28, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    Beautiful bag!
    Interesting background you have. Thanks for sharing. I took the test but I am too embarrassed to tell you the results. Why did that have so many of them making strange faces anyway?

  7. 7 the painted pear April 28, 2006 at 2:50 pm

    Okay, I will fess up my embarrassing number…..2. Yup, you’d think I shut my eyes. The little bugger at the top even said, “it isn’t easy to get that many wrong”. WOW.

    One lucky mom to get 3 bags! And I love the puffy pillows. I always need an extra pillow or two when I sit on the couch.

  8. 8 cindy April 28, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    Wow, I thought I was pretty good at judging that. I scored a 6. Pitiful! Thanks for leaving a comment and mentioning me on your post. I’ll see you Sunday.

  9. 9 Adrienne April 28, 2006 at 4:18 pm

    I scored an 8! I think that’s pretty good for a white girl. :-) He,he,he!

    I think you always make beautiful fabric choices! What are you talking about???

  10. 10 weirdbunny April 29, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    How wonderful to have been a gymnastics teacher!! My daughter is currently training for a gymnastics competion, they make them work so hard. lovely bag.

  11. 11 beki April 30, 2006 at 12:01 am

    Your fabric combo looks great, what are you worried about?

  12. 12 Meg April 30, 2006 at 3:07 am

    With a hint like that, I just had to leave a comment. Love the bag, and laughed at the post. I know already I would score far too embarassingly bad to ever try such a test … !

  13. 13 Adrienne May 1, 2006 at 12:23 am

    I can’t believe it, but Hubby just took the test and he got a 10!!!! I would never have thought that! :-)

  14. 14 hannah May 2, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    Ha ha I just got 4, how rubbish am I??? I took it coz i thought I would be good . I bet you are feeling better about your 7 now! I love your bag, its really pretty, the colours are great together.

  15. 15 lizzie May 8, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    LOVE the bag! What a lucky Mommy!!! The girls are asking questions all the time…”Do you like green and blue with flowers? Do you like roosters?” They’re excited!!!! I did awful on the test with a 4! Will have Daddy do it as well.

  16. 16 Canadian May 17, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    I got 4 right. (I am a white Canadian who knows some Chinese-Canadians but no one of Japanese or Korean origin.)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers