A Boyish Collage, the Birthday Boy, and his Book

                                   kids-collage.JPG

Inspired by the collage that Beki’s daughter did, I got together some of my boyish fabric (there isn’t much) and the boys and I put this fabric collage together.  Let me first say that 2 1/2 years old is TOOOO young in my book to be working with Mod Podge, but we survived (I, just barely) and now the boys have this piece of art that they want to hang up in their room.  They are so proud of it, and I’d love to see it on their wall just as soon as I can figure out how to hang it – it’s a flat canvas. 

And tomorrow, my oldest is turning 5!!!  Every year we put together a book for him called The Timo Story. (His name is pronounced TEE-moe)  Here are a few pages from the first one I made for him when he was 2.  Sorry about the glossy plastic page covers.

                         Timo Story

The story goes something like this:

My name is Timo blah blah.  My Daddy’s name is blah blah.  He is 32 years old.  My Mommy’s name is blah blah.  She is blah blah years old.  My brother’s name is blah blah.  He is 1 year old.  I live at blah blah, blah blah, Texas, blah.  My telephone number is blah-blah-blah.  My favorite color is blah, I mean, blue.  These are my hands.  I like my bear.  My favorite animal is a gorilla.  I like going to the park and sliding down the yellow slide.  My favorite machine is a giant excavator.  I like going to the zoo and looking at all the animals.  The end.

This really helped him to learn his address and phone number when he was little.  And his favorite animal changes frequently.  I finally had to say that we couldn’t change his favorite animal anymore until his next Timo story.

I can’t believe you are 5 little boy.  You are a generous, responsible older brother, with a sweet heart.  I still remember how I would stand you on my lap and we would sing together for hours when you couldn’t even sit up yet.  You were an only child then, and boy have things changed!  Now you are busy with your brothers and I am as tired as ever.

Can you tell I’m tired?  My littlest one is well on his way to not napping anymore and Mommy is having a hard time adjusting.

12 Responses to “A Boyish Collage, the Birthday Boy, and his Book”


  1. 1 kathy July 6, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    What a lovely tradition. These will be wonderful things for him to read when he’s older.

  2. 2 Ali July 6, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    I love the Timo story, what a fantastic idea, and so much fun to look back on. Happy 5th birthday to your gorgeous boy.

    (That no-nap thing is a killer!)

  3. 3 capello July 6, 2006 at 3:51 pm

    I’m loving the collage.

    My new favorite thing to use to hang stuff up on the walls is this velcro-y stuff made by 3M. You stick one side to the wall and one side to what your hanging and then they velcro together. Then when you want to take it down, you un-velcro it and then pull the sticky stuff off and it’s not supose to mare your walls or leave any residue. I used it to hang three magnet boards above my sewing machine and it’s working great.

    I love Timo’s books. Great idea, I should start doing that for my boys. And I especially love how his mommy’s age is “blah, blah, blah.”

  4. 4 autum July 6, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    Happy Birthday to Timo. What a handsome 5 year old! And what a wonderful mom he has.

  5. 5 Elizabeth K July 6, 2006 at 4:43 pm

    Capello already said what I was going to say! The book idea is great. I’m going to store that in my memory for in case I have have any children.

  6. 6 beki July 7, 2006 at 12:20 am

    Happy Birthday Timo! What a big boy!!! His book is such a great tradition. I wish I had thought to do something like that with mine. Well, I guess it isn’t too late.

    Love their collage :-)

  7. 7 Monica July 7, 2006 at 3:40 am

    Tired? I think mothers of three boys should get more hours in the day (what am I saying…. night) than ‘normal’ people. Love the collage, my boys would love doing something like that, but I’m not sure I’m ever going to tell them about it… glue? boys? bad formula.

    We have boxes for our boys, that we started filling when they were born (with a newspaper of the day, a car mag and a gossip mag, and the single CD of the week) and everytime something special happen to them (first pair of shoes, first school book etc., swimming badges) we put it in the box. It’s lovely to look at them already!

  8. 8 Cindi July 7, 2006 at 12:58 pm

    Oh, so special. I can’t believe your oldest is only five. You seem wise beyond your years! Three boys under 5 and Mod Podge…hmmm…interesting combination. I don’t know if I would like my 17 year old loose with the stuff. Happy Birthday!

  9. 9 Cathy July 7, 2006 at 3:51 pm

    The Timo story is brilliant! I should do something like that for my son. Happy Birthday, big boy!!!

  10. 10 Debbie July 7, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    Happy Birthday to your darling big boy!
    Your memory book is a wonderful idea and something that he will forever enjoy.

  11. 11 weirdbunny July 8, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Happy Bithday, have a wonderful 5th birthday!!! I just love that book you made for your son. They are real crafters too making that wonderful canvas.

  12. 12 Wendi July 10, 2006 at 10:10 pm

    I love the Birthday book idea! I’ve made books like that for my kids when they are in Kindergarten but never thought of doing it each year. Marvelous idea!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers