New and Improved Tool Belts/Aprons; First Day of Kindergarten; and 1,000th Commenter!

Remember the nail aprons I got at Home Deep and adapted for the boys? Well it really bothered me that the straps were soooooo long and a potential danger to younger children.  I wanted to make a couple for some kiddos we know and decided that velcro would definitely make the need for longer straps obsolete.

toolbelt-apron1.jpg

(Blurriness due to 5 year-old taking picture.  Scrunched up face due to silly 4 year-old.)

I found some fun cotton duck that was perfect for a boy, and interfaced some cotton to make an apron for a girl.  Hard to tell, but the front panel has 2 pockets. Today was our first day of Kindergarten!  Timo did great, and I’m pretty sure my 4 year-old will be able to keep up so this may have been his first day of K as well.  Poor little Nathan (the shirtless one) spent much of his school time sad because he wasn’t allowed to use the glue stick.  It was a great day – we were able to finish 2 whole days worth of lessons as well as some computer practice and extra reading.  And here is our picture to commemorate the day:

1st-day-of-kindergarten.JPG

And my 1000th commenter was Rachel!!!  Congratulations, Rachel!  And since I’m feeling generous, I am also recognizing my 999th commenter, Kimberly!  Kimberly is quite possibly my longest blog friend ever besides my sister, of course.  Congratulations, ladies, you will each be receiving a set of quilted cards.  Please let me know if you prefer springy pink cards or fall-ish themed cards.

24 Responses to “New and Improved Tool Belts/Aprons; First Day of Kindergarten; and 1,000th Commenter!”


  1. 1 Cathy August 28, 2006 at 7:25 pm

    I really admire you for schooling your children. I’m sure they will benefit hugely by having you as their teacher.

  2. 2 Adrienne August 28, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    That pic of the boys is so cute! So sad that Nathan was upset about the gluestick. :-( So cute. Congrats on your first day of school, that is so exciting Linda! I remember our first day very well, it was so fun!! Now I have a 13 year old who barely needs me for school any longer!!! Yikes! It is exciting though to see her able to be so independent now…it happens quickly, too quickly. Enjoy kindergarten, I wish we could go back! :-)

  3. 3 Randi August 28, 2006 at 10:01 pm

    I LOVE the pics you post of your boys! They look like they are so full of energy and laughter!

  4. 4 Ali August 29, 2006 at 12:45 am

    Cute tool belts and cuter boys. You certainly breed them gorgeous!

  5. 5 rebecca August 29, 2006 at 7:33 am

    While reading this post I was beaming with pride, maybe excitement for you! You know my feelings on homeschooling and I am just feeling so excited that the school year has begun!

    And of course I love the aprons. I could see myself walking around the house all day with the phone, pencils, wipies, glue sticks all bulging out. You know all the ingredients for the “recipe” of getting through the day.

  6. 6 beki August 29, 2006 at 7:47 am

    I love those aprons – yet another thing to add to my “to do” list. I really need to keep a journal to keep track of all these fabulous ideas.

    Congratulations on the first day of school! Your boys look so cute, all beaming with pride.

  7. 7 kirsten August 29, 2006 at 8:25 am

    yay – a good school day! i love those! i think we’ll start on monday…

  8. 8 Susan August 29, 2006 at 9:06 am

    Another nice job.

    Your five-year-old takes better pix than me. Maybe he can post a tutorial on how to take pictures? ;-)

  9. 9 firefly8868 August 29, 2006 at 11:22 am

    What a beautiful family …

    Oh, “just one more row and then …” children everywhere must lament that line. They are smart; they know better.

    It will be enjoyable to keep up with you.

    ~firefly

  10. 10 sueb August 29, 2006 at 11:50 am

    What good looking boys! Geez I’d be a bit miffed if I wasn’t allowed to use the glue stick either.

  11. 11 lera August 29, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    your boys seem to love school … or pictures :-)

    and those aprons are certainly cute.

  12. 12 Wendi August 29, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    We started our year of homeschool yesterday as well! The boys are adorable. You’re fortunate to have two close enough in age to school together. I’m hoping to do that with some of my younger crew.

  13. 13 capello August 29, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    Yay! School is in session! And two days of work? I’m impressed.

    Love the aprons. So cute!

  14. 14 rachel August 29, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    I’m so excited! Thank you! I’m looking forward to the surprise in my mailbox!

  15. 15 Monica August 29, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    wow, you’ve been so busy whilst I’ve been away doing pretty much nothing… I love the cards and the nine patch and the apron and mat combo, and the felted bag…

    You deserve to put your feet up and rest…

    And you teach your kids too? How does that work out? Do they listen? What program do you follow? I mean, how do you know they don’t miss on things?

    I really admire you.

  16. 16 Shelly August 29, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    I love the Aprons. They are one of my down the road projects for my boy and boy to be. What a great idea. I love the cards, too. I may give them a shot soon. Well, not soon. But you know what I mean.

    Thanks for all your comments in the last week. God is good!

    Blessings,
    Shelly

  17. 17 Cindi August 29, 2006 at 8:52 pm

    Congratulations on the first day of school. The boys look so excited! Glue sticks wash out Mom! Com’on let the poor boy have some fun! Teehee!

  18. 18 Debbie August 30, 2006 at 8:46 am

    Awwwwww – the scholars looks so proud! What a great first day of school shot.

  19. 19 quenna August 30, 2006 at 11:34 am

    Congrats on the first day of school! Your boys are assured of a great teacher!

    Thanks for the wonderful tut on quilt cards — I always wondered how!

  20. 20 Kimberly August 30, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    Your boys are just soo cute. What a fun first day of school. I can imagine you’re a great teacher. I love the apron and the blurry picture. :) You know me I love spring and pink. :)

  21. 21 toya August 31, 2006 at 8:52 am

    your aprons are too cute

  22. 22 Stacy August 31, 2006 at 2:52 pm

    I love the picture of your boys! Your aprons turned out wonderful – what a great idea!

  23. 23 kirsten September 30, 2006 at 1:30 pm

    joanna is your sister? cool!


  1. 1 Shelly’s Journal » Being Blessed Trackback on September 5, 2006 at 8:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers