Lotus Bag revisited

lotus-bag-s.JPG

This isn’t a tutorial for the Lotus bag.  This isn’t even a pattern.  But here are some basic instructions on how to make it since so many people asked.  I wouldn’t recommend using these instructions for making your first bag, but if you’ve made a bag before, there’s a strong likelihood that you can make this bag for yourself!  All seams are 1/2″ and all measurements noted are on the straight line.  There are no curve measurements.

1. Here’s the basic shape of the interior pattern piece.  Cut 2.  Sorry, I don’t even remember how to measure an arc: 

lotus-bag-pattern2.JPG

 2. Fuse interior pieces with a fusible fleece cut 1/2″smaller all around.

3. Then for the  exterior panels, I used the same shape but added 1/2″ seams to each panel so that it would measure the same when sewn up with a 1/2″ seam.  Cut 2 of each piece

lotus-bag-pattern-3.JPG

4. Fuse interfacing on exterior fabric pieces. 

5. Put a pocket on an inside panel (or two) if you want to.

6. Attach magnetic snap now if desired.

7. Sew interior pieces together, right sides together.

8. Assemble exterior panels.

9. Sew exterior pieces together, right sides together.

10. Clip corners on interior and exterior.

11. Place interior inside exterior, right sides together.

12. Sew around the top, leaving a 4″ hole for turning in the middle and four 1″ holes where the strap handles will go in.  I put my straps right on the seam where the different fabrics lined up at the top of the bag.

13. Turn right side out.

14. Press crisp seams around the top of the bag.

15. Slip leather handles into opennings (My leather straps were cut to 24″ long)

16. Edgestitch along the top of the bag, securing straps into place and closing up 4″ opening as you go.

Do not be tempted to put one long strap on the side seams of this bag.  It will not hold it’s shape this way and will collapse.  Believe me, I know.

If you have questions, leave me a comment and I’ll try to update the post to make it more clear.

33 Responses to “Lotus Bag revisited”


  1. 1 Pieces March 12, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    This is awesome! I have been gathering some fabrics in anticipation of trying this bag–and now I have some help! Thanks for posting the instructions.

  2. 2 Patricia March 12, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for the info. Where did you find your leather straps?

  3. 3 Kirsten March 13, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Thanks for posting this pattern – I’d like to try using it. I too am curious as to where to find some leather straps.

  4. 4 lera March 13, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Yay! Thank you so much. This is now on my very long to-do list.

    I found some leather straps at the “farm store,” but they were very pricey. Like $30 for a little bit, so this bag may have to wait.

  5. 5 DeeLight March 13, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    What a great pattern!! Thanks for sharing. I’ve never made a bag with leather staps, very cool!!

  6. 6 weirdbunny March 14, 2007 at 11:37 am

    I’ll have a go now I’ve got a sewing machine !

  7. 7 Lori March 14, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks so much for this pattern, I love that bag.

  8. 8 ohelene March 15, 2007 at 3:22 am

    Thanks for sharing! You know my perfect blogs are those who both share and inspire. You have one of those!

  9. 9 Linda L March 15, 2007 at 6:07 am

    Love the fabrics you used. Looks great with the outfit.

  10. 10 Cathy March 18, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    Hmmmm… now you have given me yet another way to construct a bag. I’m up to 3. I wonder if there are more?

  11. 11 Rejani Nair January 17, 2008 at 2:20 am

    thank you so much. i am going to make this today. i have few patterns. i am ready to share this with you

  12. 12 Jane June 3, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks for the tutorial. Love the Flat Stanley pics, too. This bag is just what I need so I can bring my knitting along! :)

  13. 13 jennbenn5 June 23, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    would there be any reason why you couldn’t place the straps inside the piece when sewing the inside and outside together instead of leaving the 4 holes for them? I really love this bag and plan on making one but I want to know if there was a reason you waited to put the straps on.

  14. 14 regina September 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

    hi
    i want to visit your bagaholic shop here in manila,,the problem is,i dont know your address,can you please call me in this number or txt me 09105775592,or just e-mail at my e-mail add,,tell me the exact place of your shop… thank you

  15. 15 regina September 27, 2008 at 12:02 am

    hi
    i want to visit your bagaholic shop here in manila,,the problem is,i dont know your adress,can you please call me in this number or txt me 09105775592,or just e-mail at my e-mail add,,tell me the exact place of your shop… thank you

  16. 16 melissa December 26, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    i’m enjoying your site. the bag looks easy, i just got back with the fabric for the bag. looking forward to enjoying my new bag.

    thanks

  17. 17 Karen March 12, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Hi there
    I came across your bag from a link on a sew mama sew forum. I really love the look of it and I have some lovely no-sew red leather straps BUT… i am really a noveice sewer and have only made a couple of bags. Could I ask you just to let me know details of the pockets ie. where did you position them & how etc.
    I thought this would make a lovely present for my mother for mothers day
    Thanks again & sorry for being so thick!

  18. 18 Bette's Bags April 28, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    What a fabulous red & white bag! It turns the casual khaki’s and sweater outfit into a stylish ensemble.

  19. 19 Margot May 3, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Hi ~ I love the bag, thanks for sharing! Could you let me know your source for the leather handbag handles as they make the bag so rich.

  20. 20 perrine October 22, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Hello!
    I really like your how to. I was wondering if I could translate it in French and add it to my list of how to as explained in my french post (http://www.petitcitron.com/index.php/form_howto.html)
    Of course, your website would be quoted and there would be a link!
    Thank you,
    Perrine

  21. 21 elisa ybanez January 2, 2010 at 3:03 am

    hi i want to start a bag business but the problem is i dont know how?can u pls help me?thanx

  22. 22 Julia in WDM April 9, 2010 at 10:38 am

    like this. if i make it, i’ll post to my craft blog, wanderingknits.blogspot.com

  23. 23 Bridgett September 15, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I love this purse pattern. Thanks for sharing

  24. 24 Gina August 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Nice Tut Thank You

    BYE

  25. 25 Maddi January 6, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Check out the thrift stores for leather skirts. I usually never pay more than $7 dollars or so. Depending the size, I can make quite a few handles for bags.


  1. 1 Bagaholic « Craft Apple Trackback on June 19, 2007 at 12:17 pm
  2. 2 Material Mama Podcast Show #23 « Material Mama Podcast Trackback on July 3, 2007 at 5:27 pm
  3. 3 Taschen mit Schulterriemen - Linkliste | Kostenlose Schnittmuster Trackback on September 8, 2008 at 4:10 am
  4. 4 77 Bags, Purses, Pouches & Backpacks! « Everything Your Mama Made & More Trackback on December 2, 2008 at 3:58 pm
  5. 5 C-cubed Giveaway#2, 3, 4, 5… « Craft Apple Trackback on January 7, 2009 at 2:32 pm
  6. 6 Things to Write Home About - 2/8/09 | Feels Like Home Trackback on February 8, 2009 at 11:21 pm
  7. 7 167+ Bags, Purses, Pouches & Backpack Tutorials! « Everything Your Mama Made & More Trackback on December 2, 2009 at 2:17 pm
  8. 8 Things to Write Home About – 2/8/09 Trackback on December 6, 2011 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers