Post Ventral Hernia Repair Post: a discussion of buttons, gratitude, and clothing size.

I am SO glad to be home! The surgery went as planned. Well, not as I planned. I would have wished that it was somehow painless. But it went as the doctor planned, mostly. She made a last-minute decision to remove skin. Lots of skin. Lots and lots of skin. So much skin that 3 people who were in the OR separately referred to my tummy as “tight”. When the swelling goes down, we’ll see. Right now I have my doubts. And, I no longer have a belly button. Yup. No.  Belly. Button.  Me and Mr. Lunt. (If you can last through the first few seconds of dialogue, you will be kindly rewarded with a few laughs.) So far I haven’t missed it. It was ugly anyway. And now it’s incinerated. Something that has been with me since before I was born…up in smoke.

I am grateful for my MIL who has played tirelessly with the kids. So much so that they admitted that they had so much fun with Grandma they didn’t think about me much. :) I am grateful for the delicious meals that have been provided by our church family. And I am grateful for well-wishes from people I have never met. Thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

For the 3 days I was in the hospital, I must have been called “little” 100 times. Yes, I’m short, but people don’t call me little very often. It took me a while to realize why they were all saying, “You’re so little!” It’s because the hospital I was at only carries one size of gown. And what size would that be??? The largest size possible, of course! Pathetic, isn’t it – that a hospital in this day and age would only carry one gown size? So here I sit wearing my universally-sized binder (yep, it’s also huge), keeping on top of my pain meds and resting up. If all goes well and the tummy does indeed turn out to be “tight”, I think I’ll try making myself a skirt to celebrate.

38 Responses to “Post Ventral Hernia Repair Post: a discussion of buttons, gratitude, and clothing size.”


  1. 1 twolimeleaves April 17, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Pleased to hear that all has gone well.You will be happy about this when the pain goes away, I’m sure.

    Now tell me I’m pathetic for wishing for a hernia so I can get tummy skin removed…

  2. 2 Ali April 17, 2007 at 6:08 am

    A tight tummy sounds like some reward for pain and time spent in hospital!

    Heal well, heal fast.

  3. 3 Jackie Lawrence April 17, 2007 at 6:47 am

    I must have missed it when you said you were having surgery. I am glad you are doing well. I will pray for a speedy recovery so that you can get back to the sewing room!

  4. 4 Ashley April 17, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Well hey–accidental tummy tightening seems like a nice side effect! Ad maybe there’s a niche market here: cute, appropriately-sized hospital gowns? Look out, Etsy!

    Glad to hear all went well…

  5. 5 Belém April 17, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Good news. Hope you will recover soon and well.

  6. 6 Karyn April 17, 2007 at 7:11 am

    I’m glad all went well. I’ve been actually thinking about you and your recovery, thanks for the update!

  7. 7 lera April 17, 2007 at 7:13 am

    I’ve been thinking about you. Glad your surgery went as planned.

    Hope you are feeling wonderful and that the tummy is as tight as pre-children.

  8. 8 Stacy April 17, 2007 at 7:24 am

    Glad to hear that everything went well. Take good care of yourself & rest up.

  9. 9 kirsten April 17, 2007 at 7:44 am

    no belly button? how are you going to get a belly button ring now? :)
    rest up!

  10. 10 Rosa April 17, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Glad to know your home safe. It is so wonderful to have help with the kids. Speedy recovery.

  11. 11 beki April 17, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Wait a second, they removed skin? I think I need one of these operations!!! I wish you a speedy recovery :-)

  12. 12 Katie April 17, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Wow, no belly button! I knew Larry had no hair, but I didn’t think about Mr. Lunt having no belly button. =)

    That reminds me of a story from when I was a kid–a neighbor boy was adopted. His sister told everyone all the time and she also told everyone that because he was adopted, he had no belly button. Funny! We were 6 or 7 at the time.

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better. And it will be great to have a tighter tummy!

  13. 13 Randi April 17, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Here’s hoping for a tight tummy!

    I hope you keep getting lots and lots of rest!!!

  14. 14 Nikki April 17, 2007 at 9:35 am

    I’m so glad to hear that all went well!

  15. 15 capello April 17, 2007 at 9:42 am

    but.. but… they didn’t make you a new belly button? no belly button? none at all?

  16. 16 Jes April 17, 2007 at 10:11 am

    I’m glad you’re doing ok! We missed you =)

  17. 17 Wendi April 17, 2007 at 10:27 am

    I can’t imagine no belly button either!
    I’m so glad that the surgery is behind you, and that you’ve had the support from family and church that you needed.
    Praying for a quick recovery!

  18. 18 Southern Girl April 17, 2007 at 10:41 am

    I’m glad your surgery went so well and you’re home recuperating. And congratulations on joining the No Belly Button club!! I was left without one after I had a hernia repair, too — let me tell you, you’ll have endless fun freaking people out with the news that you have no belly button. It never gets old! ;)

  19. 19 kat April 17, 2007 at 10:46 am

    best wishes for a speedy recovery. I’m happy to hear you have such a fantastic support system. I firmly believe that makes all the difference in healing :)

  20. 20 K. Anne April 17, 2007 at 11:07 am

    I was away from home when you announced that you needed to have surgery. I am glad that everything went well. Now you just rest and get better soon! Having had two C-sections I can well understand what it’s like to have your stomache cut open and then pieced back together.

    Wishing you and easy and speedy recovery!

  21. 21 Heather April 17, 2007 at 11:11 am

    I’m so relieved to hear everything went ok. And no belly button??? That is too funny. Hope you have a nice tight tummy when all is said and done.

  22. 22 Sue B April 17, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    So glad to see your post today and that you are doing well. Wishing you a very speedy recovery!

  23. 23 Kimberly April 17, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Great to hear you’re doing better. Yeah for the skirt!! And who needs a belly button anyway? It just collects dust. :-)

  24. 24 Chara Michele April 17, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    Glad to hear you are doing okay!

  25. 25 Tami April 17, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Glad you are back and doing well…considering. I hope that the pain subsides soon and with you a very speedy recovery.

  26. 26 LeeAnn April 17, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    I would jump with glee if I exited a surgery only to find a shrunked tummy. What a pleasant surprise! And who needs a belly button anyways?

  27. 27 knittingcaboodle April 17, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    It sounds like everything went well! I think it is probably better to be little than big… otherwise very large quantities of your tushy hang out (I know this from experience). I hope it heals very well and you don’t miss your belly button!

  28. 28 rebecca April 17, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Hey, so glad to hear you are doing well. It sort of seems I only loose weight when I get sick….haven’t been all that sick in a while would be what you say if you saw me!!!!!!

    Oh, get some rest and glad to hear you have lots of support too!

  29. 29 Lyn April 17, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    I am so glad you are home and doing well.

    A side tummy tuck sounds like a good deal. I mean a plastic surgeon would be loads more money!!!

    Lyn

  30. 30 Amanda April 17, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    I’m glad to hear that things went well, I hope your recovery is quick like a bunny. And the funny thing: when you wrote that you have no belly button, my immediate thought was of Mr. Lunt. Actually it was of the song, I didn’t remember that it was Lunt who was singing. Ugh, those vegetables!

  31. 31 Holly April 18, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    I have a friend who hosts large dinner parties, and she always has everyone at the table share one interesting fact about him/herself as an icebreaker. Not having a belly button has got to be the best icebreaker ever!

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery and a tight tummy!

  32. 32 Hilari April 18, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Glad to hear you are doing well! And that whole tight tummy thing? Is that as great as it sounds?

  33. 33 Lori April 19, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Adding to the list, so glad you are going well. Take care of yourself.

  34. 34 weirdbunny April 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    Lindie ! My dear I hope you are resting up well. If your ever get tagged with the ‘5 weird things about myeself meme, you can put your lack of bellybutton in it ! Hope you enjoy yout tight belly when the swelling settles down – love Julia x

  35. 35 Monica April 19, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    I’m so happy all went well and you’re back home snug as a bug after your tummy-tug. How wonderful to be showered by so much kindness.

    Hugs and love,
    Monica :o)

  36. 36 quenna April 19, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    I’m glad you’re home and I hope the meds are working well. Belly buttons are overrated…but where will you put your belly ring now???

  37. 37 jacqueline taylor October 9, 2008 at 8:38 am

    I realize that I am really late, but I juat found your website today. I hope by now you are fully recovered and doing well.

    I would like to get some information from you. I am going to gave a ventral hernia repair in just a few weeks. I wanted to know how you got your doctor to remove your extra skin. How does it look and feel to have no belly button? And by the way, how and why did that happen?

    I am hoping to be able to have this done. I would appreciate any information you can share with me.

    Thank you,

    Jacqueline Taylor
    jyctaylo@hotmail.com

  38. 38 Gene November 24, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Hi Lyndie,
    I too just found this web-site today!
    Thank you for the site.
    I just had an open wound Ventral hernia repaired in Oct 14th 2008.
    I had a perferated intestine that had to be repaired in Oct 2005.
    It has been a long time but I had the mesh kit put in six weeks ago to repair the hernia.
    So far it’s going ok but I’m be really carefull not to do anything to mess things up
    Now I have a tight stomach, but it is still sore.
    I only walk about a block every day.
    I carried mail until last june, but had to retire.
    I would like to hear from anyone who has also had this done!
    Thanks again and I pray you are having a succesfull recovery.
    Gene
    azwngr@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers