The Patchfolio Pattern

Now before anyone thinks all I do is sit around cranking out patterns, this one has been in the “almost done” phase for quite a while.  It feels like all I’ve done for the last week is finalize this pattern (which involved a lot of sewing (fun!) and some trips to Home Depot (also fun!)) and looking up copyright stuff (not so much fun). 

patchfolio-pattern-cover-s.jpg

Hey, is anyone going to tell her that the picture is sideways?

Okay, okay, that’s my attempt at being artistic.  I clearly need to learn some pattern cover-making skills.  Is there a class for that?  For those of you who might get hurt tilting your head, here’s a right-side-up shot:

patchfolio-cover3-s.jpg

Oh Lotus fabric, how beautiful I find thee.

HUGE thanks to Katie who whipped up not 1, but 2 patchfolios in one week, to test sew this pattern for me.  She is the reason this patchfolio is as sturdy as it is.   Thanks, Katie!

patchfolio-hb.jpg

These girls are some models that didn’t make the cut for the cover shot.  But they were such good sports about it.  Not a complaint (“Awww!  Why can’t I be on the cover?”) out of either of them, which is such a nice thing for this Mama.

Patterns are, of course, in my shop.

Thanks to everyone who’s been asking how I’m doing!  You gals are so nice!  I’m almost 4 weeks post surgery and doing a lot better.  My body is craving exercise, but I hurt when anything in my tummy area does anything remotely similar to jiggling so for now I walk slowly, avoid walking down stairs, and dream of when I can get up early and walk with my walking buddy Yvonne.

29 Responses to “The Patchfolio Pattern”


  1. 1 Karyn May 8, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Congratulations!! You’ve done it again!! I’m also very glad to hear you’re feeling better :) I’m sure you’ll be out with your walking buddy before you know it!

  2. 2 fromthenarrows May 8, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Beautiful! Sorry it’s been so long. just taking a much needed break and slowly getting back into blogging. Don’t forget my new blog home at
    fromthenarrows.wordpress.com
    Susan

  3. 3 stacy May 8, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Great design – I may break down and buy this one… it would make a wonderful teacher gift!

  4. 4 Shelly May 8, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Another beautiful design! Whoooo. Hey, I want to come walking, too!

  5. 5 randomcontemplations May 8, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    I dream of that day too Linda!!!! I am jiggling all over about now from missing our walks. I never knew just how much those twice a week walks were keeping the jiggles away, but NOW I KNOW! Ewwww!! Right? TMI? :-)

    HUGS!!!

  6. 6 lera May 8, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    You’ve been a little busy lady! The Patchfolio is a fabulous idea. Love it.

  7. 7 Elizabeth K May 8, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    The Patchfolio (terrific name, by the way) is great. I am going to have to buy that pattern. It might not get sewn for years but I’ll have it!

  8. 8 Melissa (crazycatladymel) May 8, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Yeah! I’ve been waiting for this pattern!!

  9. 9 computerpeach May 8, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    I have been waiting for this pattern and have already ordered it!

  10. 10 Mary May 8, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Love it! I think that one’s coming home with me. :) Glad you are on the mend!

  11. 11 Rachael May 8, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    What a great idea. I love all the blue fabrics in your cover shot.

  12. 12 Doe May 8, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    These are sooo beautiful…and functional!

  13. 13 kerry May 9, 2007 at 7:22 am

    This pattern looks great, my Tuesday class have been busy making folder covers over the past month, I will have to see if they would be interested in you new pattern.
    Glad to hear you are feeling better,
    Take care
    Kerry

  14. 14 cindy May 9, 2007 at 9:45 am

    Very nice! Love the fabrics on all of them. :)

  15. 15 Pieces May 9, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    What a fabulous pattern! Congratulations–I can’t imagine all the work that goes into one!

  16. 16 Constança May 9, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Absolutely love them!! Great idea and great design :)

  17. 17 Cindi May 9, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    As usual you did an excellent job. I really loved the ladies who didn’t make the pattern cover cut. I am glad to hear you are doing well. I hope you will be able to walk soon!

  18. 18 alisonmc May 9, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    So cool! I love your patterns and the fabrics you use are always so fabulous.

  19. 19 Vicki May 9, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    I love it! I am going to need to get your pattern. It looks fabulous!

  20. 20 quenna May 9, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Looks like another great pattern (love the name!). Glad to hear you’re recovery is going well :)

  21. 21 Monica May 10, 2007 at 6:36 am

    beautiful portfolio! (I love that grey/blue fabric too!)

    but sorry to hear you’re still not 100%… good luck with that.

  22. 22 weirdbunny May 11, 2007 at 4:32 am

    I just love these, practical yet beautiful. Juat imagine a woman who had to go away on a business metting, missing her familiy. She could take one of these with her, all patchworked and beautiful and use it to keep her happy as a reminder of her nice things of home, and that she’d be back with her family soon. Ahh – love Julia x

  23. 23 katie May 13, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    I’m back! And I can’t wait to see the fancy pattern! I will write tomorrow. Now I need to go sleep off the vacation (two little ones, no husband, you do the math, heh).

  24. 24 Chara Michele May 14, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    That’s a really neat pattern!

    Glad to hear you are feeling a little bit better! Hope you have a full recovery soon!

  25. 25 Happy Zombie May 15, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    I love the name “Patchfolio”! Not only do I love your design… but I love your pattern design too! Congratulations Lindiepindielou!!!

  26. 27 Bev Schweigert June 18, 2007 at 11:01 am

    I love it! I’m going to show it to my girls to see if they’d like me to make them each one… I’ll be back if they do!

    Bev


  1. 1 A Peach in Stitches » The wait is over... Trackback on May 18, 2007 at 1:50 pm
  2. 2 We’re going on a road trip « creative controller Trackback on August 22, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers