Putting Out A Pattern

Alrighty – I’ve finished the Mini Patchfolio pattern!   My plan was to put together a pattern of 3 book-ish items and call it “Sew. Create. Small Books.”  I’m really happy with that cute name.  :)  But now, for reasons beyond my control, I won’t be able to release my small books pattern until December.   I’m really okay with that, but over the past few months, several of you have mentioned that you’d like to make the Mini Patch for Christmas presents.  So what to do?  Perhaps not the best business decision ever, but I’m going to publish the Mini Patchfolio by itself for a couple of months.  Then in December I’ll publish “Small Books” and that will be the official pattern that I market to shops etc.  Kind of like releasing a single before the entire album comes out, right?  So when “Small Books” comes out, hopefully no one will be surprised that the Mini Patchfolio is in there again.  Also, instead of listing it in Etsy, I’m listing it on my site and crossing my fingers that the shopping cart I set up through Paypal works.  :) 

Putting together a pattern for me means lots and lots of sewing.  Reading and re-reading instructions, editing, then putting it aside for a few weeks to get a fresh look at it all over again and then more sewing.  Throw in some test sewers to help out and the process seems to take forever.  And even longer if the printer has a hard time getting the pattern pieces just right.  But the Mini Patchfolio?  I love making these things.  And I love this fabric!  It’s Joel Dewberry, of course, and now I’ve used it up.  Boo hoo!  But there will always be new lines coming out, right Joel?

And Amy Butler’s Nigella.  Beautiful, isn’t it?  I made 4 mini patches with this fabric.  Ahhh – even the selvage is pretty. 

The Small Books pattern is available here.

29 Responses to “Putting Out A Pattern”


  1. 1 tanaya September 19, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Well I just tried and from my end at least, it looks like it worked!

  2. 2 Camille Roskelley September 19, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    picked one up! Thanks!! I’m really excited to make this!

  3. 3 Rachel September 19, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Wow! I love how you used the fabrics. They looks very professional. I can’t wait for the pattern with 3 books.

  4. 4 rohanknitter September 19, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    I love it, I just went and bought a pattern. I like the original pattern too, but this just looks so….cute. I’m thinking Christmas gifts!!!

  5. 5 Karyn September 19, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    The pattern looks amazing and so does your website!!! I think it was a great business decision to release the pattern now :)

  6. 6 Shannon September 19, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    This looks so beatiful. Love fabric choices. It is so sweet of you to offer this before the book comes out too:)

  7. 7 Chris September 19, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Love it! Just ordered one for myself – thanks for offering up sooner than later!

  8. 8 Melissa September 19, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    those are beautiful! I will have to put a pattern on my birthday list!

  9. 9 Beth September 19, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    The minis look great! I still haven’t made my maxi patchfolio and now I want to make this one. What to do, what to do? :) The Sew. Create. Small books. title is very clever!

  10. 10 macati September 20, 2007 at 2:54 am

    wow wow wow…
    speechless…
    so beautiful!

  11. 12 meg September 20, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    Oh, I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist if you offered up a pattern for this one. And yes: I need it for Christmas gifts, so thank you!! :)

  12. 14 Melanie September 21, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Just picked mine up!!! YIPPEE. These are going to be great great great gifts :-)

  13. 15 Pieces September 21, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    Love it! Ordered it! Can’t wait to start sewing gifts!

  14. 16 Rebecca September 21, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Love it! Love the fabrics too. ;>)

  15. 17 Dee Light September 21, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    I just love the fabrics!!! Great Work!!!

  16. 18 Janey September 21, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    I am watching in the mail for mine to arrive. I love your site and always am checking to see what you are making. I too am a stay at home mom of three, ranging from 10yr to 4yr and I am a bagaholic and quilter, my fourth child is my quilt frame. Which many people are always asking what is that, you would think it’s obvious when attached to a sewing machine but I guess not.

  17. 19 Lala September 22, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Have been visiting for a bit… saw your offer for the mini patchfolio and couldn’t resist… seems to have worked form my end! :o) I’ll be very excited to receive it in the mail!!! I would love to be able to make some up for my friends! Thank you again!!! :o)

  18. 20 Kimberly September 23, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Oh gosh, you’ve been busy!! I love the fabrics and your patterns.

  19. 21 Quirk September 23, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    yes! Love them..and will have to buy them:)

  20. 22 Tracy September 24, 2007 at 8:17 am

    They are fantastic! Love your fabric selections here…And so great you’ll share the pattern early! Happy week :o)

  21. 24 Christi September 24, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Seems like a great decision on the patterns! Nice work, you are doing wonderful, creative stuff!

  22. 25 Christi September 24, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    p.s. just bought a pattern and the site worked wonderfully! Great work!

  23. 26 Day September 26, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I just ordered the pattern- can’t wait to make these as little gift “extras” for the holidays! Your work/fabric selection is beautiful!

  24. 27 Becky September 28, 2007 at 10:27 am

    Those are so cute, and so professional looking!

  25. 28 Twila September 29, 2007 at 9:18 am

    I got the pattern in the mail Thursday, and I have already made one! I love it. I must give you props – it is VERY cleverly designed. No hand-sewing, for one; everything so neat and tidy and lined up, for another. Great job!

  26. 29 Catherine September 30, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    Great idea for christmas gifts


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers