Shaving Fuzzies

I have this sweater.  It’s not particularly beautiful, but it’s so cozy and has warm pockets.  It looked great when I bought it, but after the first wear it started to pill up and it only got worse until I was embarrased to be wearing it.  But I still did, ‘cuz it was SO COZY!  I tried everything - a DFuzzIt, a Sweater Stone…they all failed me even after hours of defuzzing or rubbing with the stone.

defuzz before

Did you know that fuzzies are really hard to capture in a picture?   After some brainstorming, I decided what I needed was clippers like what I buzz the boy’s heads with.  And then it hit me – I HAVE clippers that I buzz the boy’s heads with!  I got it out, took off the guard and started buzzing.  And buzzing.  And buzzing.  Carefully.  Can you see the difference? 

defuzzing

It was really fun.  And addicting.  It was WAY  past time to start school when I looked at the clock, but we managed to finish our school for the day anyway.  And now I get to wear my cozy sweater – fuzz-free!

Disclaimer:  This worked really well for me, BUT you have to be careful because although I didn’t tear my sweater, I could see it happening if I were careless.

32 Responses to “Shaving Fuzzies”


  1. 1 miss chris March 3, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I am so going to do this. Nothing will be safe in my house anymore!

  2. 2 Adrienne March 3, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    I’ve used a good ol’ fashioned razor – disposable works great!

  3. 3 beki March 3, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Yep, I use a regular razor too, usually those cheapo disposable ones.

  4. 4 Becky March 3, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Wow! Isn’t it amazing how a good sweater de-pilling makes it look like a brand new sweater all over again? Good idea with the buzzer!

  5. 5 Sue B March 3, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    What a great idea to use the buzzer!

  6. 6 macati March 3, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    hi!
    I would gladly send you my stuff so that you may continue this new addiction! hehehehe!

  7. 7 Ali March 3, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Hee hee – not sure why this makes me laugh so much. Mine always pill at the armpit – how icky is that?

  8. 8 Beth March 3, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Wow, what a difference!

  9. 9 randomcontemplations March 3, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    AHA! I am SO going to try this, and we even have a pair of eatra buzzers so I don’t ruin Hubby’s in some freak accident of some sort. I got one of those small one’s at Joann’s before, and it was addicting, until it couldn’t keep up with me and quit working. Good idea!

  10. 10 Gretchen March 3, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Great idea!

    Wondering – if you’re concerned about cutting it, could you put the shortest guard on the clippers?

  11. 11 Tina March 3, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    That’s the best tip I’ve heard this week. Being a hairdresser, I have a few clippers lying around. Watch out sweater here I come.

  12. 12 SewDelish March 4, 2008 at 4:38 am

    I usually use disposable razors, but I can see this being much more fun!

  13. 13 thedomesticdiva March 4, 2008 at 6:01 am

    LOL…Ditto on the old fashion disposable razor! That or just let the dry cleaners do it!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  14. 14 creatist March 4, 2008 at 6:21 am

    LOL . i think I should go buy one..the result looks really nice

  15. 15 Stephanie March 4, 2008 at 9:27 am

    This is awesome, we have those clippers too, for buzzing my husbands hair! I am totally doing this tonight, I have a few sweaters that are driving me crazy and I don’t wear them because of the fuzzies. thanks. :)

  16. 16 Nikki March 4, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    There is an actual sweater-shaver invention similiar to what you did with the buzzers – I believe it’s called a fabric shaver. I just picked another up at Odd-Lots for $2. This one is great because it’s real small – fits in palm of hand. They are battery operated, hand held and have a little container that catches all the lint/fuzzies. When it’s full, you dump it.

  17. 18 kristin March 5, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Brilliant!! :) I love that idea! I will definitely have to try that with my favorite sweater of DD’s!

    Also wanted to let you know that I am having a big giveaway on my blog, so if you have a moment, stop on by. :)

  18. 19 Tracy March 5, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Fantastic tip…thanks! :o) Happy Day ((HUGS))

  19. 20 wondermommy March 5, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Such a good idea, but I’d probably end up shaving a hole in the sweater.

  20. 21 Cathy March 5, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I hate pilling… I won’t even try to save a sweater that pills. Off it goes to charity or a friend that doesn’t mind shaving her sweaters! ;)

  21. 22 Chara Michele March 6, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Oh what a great idea, although I have to agree with wondermommy that I probably would shave right through the sweater :)

  22. 23 Ann at mommysecrets March 6, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    That’s hysterically clever! Thanks for the tip :)

  23. 24 paperseed March 6, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Huh. I would have never thought of this. Good thinking!

  24. 25 quenna March 7, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Hilarious post…sweater shaving is addictive! It’s one of the few chores my girls love — we use a battery operated one from Target. It has burns out after 20 minutes, which eliminates unnecessary shaving :)

  25. 26 Robyn March 7, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Yeah, I’m not even allowed near my kids heads with those things, lol. I love your blog, you have such BEAUTIFUL things on here. It blows me away (my current favorite is your kleenex/garbage organizer since we just bought a van).

    Anyway, after looking at your blog, I think I could really use your input. If you’ve got a minute, I’ve got a question on my blog that I’d really value your opinion on.

  26. 27 Melanie March 7, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I imagine the past couple days this sweater has been used a lot :-) Weird TX weather!

    Have you tested out any Timtex replacements? I haven’t had time yet. Too busy working on my website to sew much :-)

  27. 28 Jona March 8, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Brilliant!! I love seeing tool used in an unconventional way like that. Good thing you didn’t end up with a “mo”hair hawk!

  28. 29 Shannon March 9, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    What a great idea! I am going to give it a try on a few of my sweaters!

    I was just recently tagged and am now tagging you:) Tag Your It! There were rules that came along when I was tagged and here they are:

    1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.

    2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.

    3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.

    4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

  29. 30 Kimberly March 17, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Oh how funny, just last week I bought one of those fuzz remover shavers too! It was so much fun getting those fuzzies off! I thought about posting about it too but I’m so busy right now that I can’t. Your sweater looks like new. Good idea!

  30. 31 Onna March 24, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    It’s so random! I just did this today. I used my fabric scissors and just nipped them away. I have to share: my mother was here watching my 5 month old son and she was watching. She called them noodles! How cute is that! I always referred to it as pilling or fuzz, but noodles sounds a bit festive! or at least asian.. hummm, maybe we’ll have Thai tonight! :)
    blessings.

  31. 32 susan April 19, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    what a great idea, i have one of those, so i will have to try this!
    thanks


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers