Kitchen Aid Cover

I bought my Kitchen Aid stand mixer when the only colors available were white and blue.  It was just a few months later that a bunch of cool colors started becoming available.  But at the time, I thought, Wow – blue!  So that’s the one I got.

blue kitchen aid

Fast forward 10 years and everything in my kitchen is red.  Windows, fiestaware, chopping board, yes, even the dishrags.  What’s a girl to do?  Make a Kitchen Aid cover, that’s what.

kitchen aid cover

I SOOOO wish I could say that I came up with this myself.  But alas, I did not.  This pattern is from my friend Cindy and is available in here.  Fabric is Fifties Kitchen by Michael Miller - perfect for this project.

32 Responses to “Kitchen Aid Cover”


  1. 1 Heather May 24, 2008 at 6:45 am

    I looooove it! I have a table runner and placemats in that same fabric, and just bought some more to do some other things (cloth napkins maybe). I have red fiesta ware too! That fabric goes so well with it.

  2. 2 Lisa May 24, 2008 at 8:07 am

    I love it – that fabric is so cool – I will have to check it out. My White Mixmaster matches my kitchen but I am sure it could be enhanced by a great cover.

  3. 3 Elizabeth May 24, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Very cute. Great fabric too.

  4. 4 Melanie May 24, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Wonderful! Pure genius! my kitchen is blue and white but slowly there are a few Laura Ashley red and cream things creeping in. I may end up redecorating.

  5. 5 Sue B May 24, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Love that fabric for this. Great choice!

  6. 6 Katie May 24, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    What an awesome cover, Linda! I love it!!! (I like red in the kitchen, too–my new stand mixer is red, fire engine red.)

  7. 7 Beth May 24, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    And the Fiesta bowl looks great next to it (I have a mix of colors and it’s a bit addictive).

    My Kitchen Aid is boring white, and of course now they have kiwi and orange. I guess it’s for the best that I already have one — how could I decide??

  8. 8 tinkerverve May 24, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    so,so cute! I have some of those same red bowls and they are my favorites!

  9. 9 Cindi May 25, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Love It! What a great idea!

  10. 10 Ali May 25, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    I’d kill for a Kitchen Aid of any hue – especially now I know of a cute cover to be made!

  11. 11 Jen May 25, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    blue is cool and wont date. Great cover

  12. 12 Rachael May 26, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I have the boring white one. I think it needs a cover. I’m off to visit Cindy’s shop.

  13. 13 Susan May 26, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Very nice cover – an inspiration piece for sure.

  14. 14 donna May 26, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Thanks for the link to the great pattern. I have a gun metal grey kitchen aid and even though I love the colour it really needs a cover to keep it from getting kitchen muck all over it!

  15. 15 emadethis May 26, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    What a lovely idea. I have the same size and color Kitchen Aid. I got it when I think I was in 6th grade (I was the nerdy kid who loved to bake). I wish I had known they would come out with such fab colors–I love the pistachio green that came out a couple of years ago. Still, I love my mixer and I will run it into the ground. But maybe a cute cover will up its aesthetic appeal.

  16. 16 Tamara May 27, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Very cute addition to your kitchen!

  17. 17 Fiona (Dragonfly-Crafts) May 27, 2008 at 1:47 am

    What a great idea….. It looks lovely, I love the fabric.

  18. 18 Kashoan May 27, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I love vintage fabric! You have such a creative blog. I always look forward to reading it!

  19. 19 coco8199 May 27, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Kitchen Aid mixer, Fiestaware bowl… vintage print… you must be living in my dream world.

    I would love to have a cover like that for my mixer :D

  20. 20 Barb (aka Craft Junkie) May 28, 2008 at 7:51 am

    AWESOME! I love it!

    I got my Kitchenaid when my mother passed away, 17 years ago, and she got it when the ONLY color was white. And it still runs like a dream but it’s butt-ugly. You’ve given me hope. :) Thanks!

  21. 22 Lisa May 28, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Yay! Fiestaware!!! I keep buying new colors – I can’t stop!

  22. 23 Shannon May 28, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Hi!! Love the blue kitchen aid it would be hard for me to cover since blue is absolutely my favorite color!!!! That fabric is so fantastic I might have to brake my no buying fabric rule for this month and get me some:)

  23. 24 Stephanie May 28, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Awesome work! It looks great! You should draw more often…its so fun to explore with new medias.

  24. 25 Jess May 28, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a little bit now but I’ve been too busy (with a move across the country to comment) but I just couldn’t resist taking a minute to comment on this post! I think that is great! I also can’t draw but like to trace and color and that looks like the best tool ever! You could make some really cool drawings with that!

  25. 26 Mansoor A Cheeda June 2, 2008 at 7:51 am

    pls send me patterns for vaccum cleaner cover,kitchrn appliancescovers. thanx

  26. 27 julia June 2, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Very ingenious idea!!

  27. 28 Stacy T June 3, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    So cute… I recognize that fabric ;) Enjoy!

  28. 29 Amy June 28, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I MUST have this pattern! I, too, have a stand mixer in a color that I chose when I was – let’s just say – much younger. I almost wish those darn things weren’t so indestructible! Thanks for your wonderful blog.

  29. 30 Kris C. July 4, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    I wonder how many patterns you’ve sold for your friend via your blog? :) I just ordered my first Kitchen-Aid mixer (been agonizing over exactly which one to get for months now), and I also ordered the cover pattern. I have no idea yet what fabric I’ll use for mine, but I have friends who’ll be getting a Looney Tunes cover for theirs! Another friend would appreciate the same fabric you used, I think…I’ll have to see what I can find.

  30. 31 verlaine November 8, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Hi! Stumbled upon your blog as I am looking for Kitchenaid mixer cover patterns. Unfortunately the link you gave is no longer available, I think? Any chance you can send to me or point to where I can get it? Thanks! :D


  1. 1 Pimp My Mixer! » Needcoffee.com Trackback on May 28, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers