Pop! goes the brain.

Ah, vacation – it really is lovely.  This year our family went to visit my sister’s family in Seattle. 

cabin2

After a couple of days away from the house and the sewing machine, I started to feel my brain relax.

cabin3

Really.  It actually popped like my ears pop during the plane’s descent – free from the tight wadded up, stressed out ball of neurons it had become.  I slowed down and started looking around.

twin falls trail

I was seeing beauty everywhere – especially on the trail we hiked on our last day.

weed

And this beautifully symmetrical weed-looking-celery-looking-leafy thing?  I can’t explain why I like the shape so much, but I do!

I spent the flight home sketching and taking notes on design ideas.  Then, when we came home, I started focusing on  all the things I had to get done, and I could see myself rapidly returning to the stressed out crafter I was before we left.  Not a good feeling.  So today I shipped off pattern orders and spent time throwing stuff out.  That’s the plan for this week – the last week of summer.

Amazingly, Joanna and I didn’t get a chance to sew together.  With 6 young boys between us I don’t know why I thought we could.  Maybe a sew-along is in order.  :o)  Thanks for a great week, Joanna!

19 Responses to “Pop! goes the brain.”


  1. 1 celia August 13, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Oh, the chairs by the lake relaxed even my brain!, lol…

  2. 2 Melanie August 13, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I see our brains seem to be in tune. :-) It’s so good that you had a week to relax!

  3. 3 Mary August 13, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Sounds like a great time! Love that little ferny-celery thing.

  4. 4 Organizing Mommy August 13, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Wonderful to relax like that!! I love the design on that leaf also!! A landscape quilt??

  5. 5 Blue Castle August 13, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Ah, Seattle! That is close to where I grew up. I love the pictures of the lake and the forrest. I loved walking through the woods. Glad you had a nice, relaxing trip!

  6. 6 cindy August 13, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I want to go there!! It’s good to have you back. I can’t wait to hear some tales from the boys. What an adventure!!

  7. 7 Susan August 13, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    What lovely photos! My friend and I are looking for a vacation spot for out two families next summer & Anderson island looks perfect. Would you mind sharing (or emailing) the name of your cottage/rental co.

    Thanks!

  8. 8 Beth August 13, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Wow, that really does look like a relaxing place!

  9. 9 Janine August 13, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Oh, how beautiful! I’m so glad you relaxed. You definitely need it before school starts. I, too, am a homeschooling mom. But I’m on the other end. Only have two more years before my last son graduates. Treasure the time with them. And try to enjoy the crafting again! I do enjoy your blog.
    -Janine

  10. 10 Michelle August 13, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    The pictures are just wonderful! I too love the shape and colors in the leaf. The trail is beautiful! I imagine the hike was very peaceful.
    I am glad you had a good vacation and got to relax a bit. Hang one of those vacation pictures up in your craft room to remind you to take a few moments every day to relax your mind. If nothing else, just to take a bubble bath or read a book.
    -Michelle

  11. 11 Jen August 14, 2008 at 3:16 am

    just looking at those photos relaxes my brain…what a lovley place to live…what a lucky sister…

  12. 12 Kristin August 14, 2008 at 3:55 am

    what a LOVELY vacation! I can see why you felt it was so beautiful and serene there…. *sigh* :)

  13. 14 Shannon August 14, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Awwwww….looks like a great time. The pictures totally make me miss Washington. Grew up right outside of Seattle. Would love to go back.

  14. 15 Cindi August 14, 2008 at 9:54 am

    I am so glad you had a nice break. You deserved that. I can tell you why you are getting stressed again so easily…it doesn’t all have to be done now…use one of those padfolios and make notes then go slow. Life is to be savored. Enjoy the creative process. You have so many ideas floating around, that’s great, but only focus on one at a time.

  15. 16 noolygirl August 14, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    What gorgeous pics!
    ENjoy your rest… I’ll jsut sit here being jealous, wishing I could have a rest too :-)

  16. 17 Beverly August 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    I love your blog! Thank you for all you do and your tutorials! I would love to pass the Brilliant Weblog Award to you! Check on my blog for instructions on how to pass it on! Thanks for all you do!

  17. 18 Gina August 18, 2008 at 1:14 am

    OH it’s beautiful work, I love it!

  18. 19 Chara Michele September 9, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Sounds like you had a lovely time! I wish I could have met you :)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers