Goals

In the world of pattern designers. . . oh wait, let me rephrase that . . . in the CraftApple pattern-designing world, a big goal is to not just sell to individuals, but to wholesale patterns to quilt shops.  After that, a goal is to sell patterns (deeply discounted) to distributors who purchase large quantities to make it worth the deep discounting.  Then, the distributors will turn around and market and sell your patterns to quilt shops.  Getting in with a distributor is something I started pursuing in January.   Because I don’t have a ton of time, I only wanted to be picked up by one distributor so I picked the only one I could think of:  Moda/United Notions.  In July (yes, 7 months later . . . these things take time) Moda called back!  They are going to carry 4 of my patterns (yippee!!!).  And would I be interested in making samples for Quilt Market?  YES, OH YES!  So they sent me some fabric and I got to sewing.  This is what I’ve got so far:  a Patchfolio, Mini Patch, and a Little Artist Drawing Case.

Samples for Quilt Market

Another cool goal in the CraftApple part of the world would be to actually have a booth at Quilt Market.  Not just a booth, but a really cool, expensive booth – which is why it won’t be happening anytime in the near future.  Ha!  I’ve been asked what the difference is between Quilt Market and Quilt Festival.  Both are hosted by Quilts, Inc., but Market is only open to the trade meaning you must have a Tax ID number and proof of a business bank account (but don’t quote me on that).  That’s the show where the booths are filled with the faaaaamous people of the sewing world showing you what’s new, trying to get shop owners interested in carrying their products in their shops.  At Festival, anyone can attend for the cost of a ticket and you get to see award-winning quilts from around the world and the booths are filled with shops who have brought their wares to sell to the Festival attendees.  In a nutshell, Amy Butler will have a booth at Quilt Market, but may just be walking around at Festival, or not there at all.

Do you like my dots?  They are the result of a little too much playing around in Photoshop.  :)

21 Responses to “Goals”


  1. 1 Melanie August 28, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Oh my gosh! First of all, I am so happy for you! Secondly, I’m so jealous that you have actual yardage of these lines. I can’t wait for them to arrive! When you do go big time – expensive booth at quilt market – count on me to be there to help you run it. I think that would be fun!!!!

  2. 2 Melanie August 28, 2008 at 1:31 am

    oh yes, and I like the dots.

  3. 3 Vicki W August 28, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Congratulations on geting on with Moda!

  4. 4 Beth August 28, 2008 at 6:29 am

    That’s wonderful, congrats!

    Maybe they’ll invite you to market as their guest?!? Even going would be fabulous!

  5. 5 SilverLining Designs August 28, 2008 at 8:00 am

    WOW! That’s great news. Congratulations on your accomplishment. You must be thrilled. It’s so great when hard work pays off.

  6. 6 msfineprint August 28, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Congratulations. Wow, that’s really an amazing accomplishment. Enjoy your success! Ooh and what is that pretty fabric that Moda sent you.

  7. 7 Smuddpie August 28, 2008 at 11:19 am

    How exciting for you! When I see your pattern in a store, I’ll feel like saying, “Oh, I know the designer,” though I don’t really “know” you in real life. I cyber-know you. ;)

  8. 8 Michelle August 28, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Very, very, very ultra cool! Congratulations, that’s fabulous!

  9. 9 randomrevelations August 28, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    That is exciting news! I’m really looking forward to Quilt Market. Fun, fun! I’ll take your masked picture by the display, again!

  10. 10 beki August 28, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Congrats, Linda, that’s awesome!!

  11. 11 Yvonne August 28, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Wow, congratulatins!!!!!! It seems like just yesterday when you started sewing… :-) I’m very proud of you!!

  12. 12 meg August 28, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Linda! That is *big* news — congratulations!

  13. 13 tinkerverve August 28, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I DO love your dots and I want to offer a HUGE congrats to you Linda. How exciting that must be.

  14. 14 Spare Ribbon August 28, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Wow what exciting news. I am green with envy. :) I wish you the best!

  15. 15 Adrienne August 28, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    Love the dots :+) Seriously – those ‘samples’ are beautiful! Congrats on a goal achieved!

  16. 16 Robin August 29, 2008 at 2:17 am

    Beautiful work, as always. The fabrics are gorgeous. Do you know the name of the collection?

  17. 17 Jen B August 29, 2008 at 8:33 am

    WAY to go! You’re very talented & deserve this SO much:)

  18. 18 jodi jean August 29, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    holy crap!! congrats! that is AMAZING! persistence pays off. CONGRATS!!!!

  19. 19 Robyn Kirk August 29, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    What wonderful news and richly deserved. I have a friend in New Zealand who is a fabric rep and travels to both markets. I’ll be sure to get her to look out for your patterns for me. I just love the things you make. See – hard work and perseverance does pay in the long run.
    Cheers Robyn New Zealand

  20. 20 Janine August 30, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Congratulation! You are an inspiration to us all to keep going.
    -Janine

  21. 21 pam August 31, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Love the covers, I made something like that years ago, yours a much cuter.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers