Hooded Towels

Way back when I was still in occupational therapy school doing my fieldwork I ran into all kinds of interesting people.  Several of them stick out in my mind.  There was the sweet, old woman at a nursing home who’d had a stroke.  One hand was clenched shut and as I worked on her hand to open it, we talked.  She told me I had “magic hands”.  There is another woman who I met briefly who was in her 20s who wore her hair like a little girl and was incredibly shy and socially awkward.  I remember thinking at the time  that if she had just had one good friend growing up – doing eachother’s hair, playing dress-up, talking about the world – things may have been very different for her.  Of course, I couldn’t possibly have known anything about her in our brief meeting, but it got me thinking about those times I spent with my friends growing up – laughing and putting on blue eye shadow (which was really a blue marker, but we didn’t care), biking around the neighborhood, spending our little NT$s(Taiwan dollars) on Pokis (Taiwan popsicles).  Those times were not just fun and silly, but important to the person I am today.  I was blessed with not just a sister to do those things with, but other friends as well.  Two of those friends I have never lost contact with.  I’ve known Mary since 1st grade, and Ruth since 4th.  In the last couple of years each of them has had a daughter and as a mom of sons who loves to sew, I’ve been thrilled for them!

First off, let me say that what I am about to show you is NOT a late Christmas gift (although I have one of those in my house right now!).   I mean, I would have loved to have gotten them done around Christmas, but it didn’t happen.  So let’s just say these are “I-really-wanted-to-make-your-girls-something” gifts.  The perfect picture would have included a couple of 1 year-old girls on a picnic blanket and in their diapers, smiling at eachother but hmmm I don’t have any little girls around here so my boys will have to do…

 Hooded Towels

Hooded Towels 

These were such a quick project from a great pattern by Revel Designs.  The pattern also comes with instructions for a swim bag made from the towel remnant left over from the hooded towel project, but I haven’t made that.  The only tip I have is to consider the thickness of the towel  when purchasing it at the store if your machine has difficulty with sewing through thicknesses.  Also, a presser foot with an “open toe” worked a lot better for me than my walking foot.

I’m so happy with how these turned out.  I hope they enjoy their little towels for years to com!

Pattern available here.

20 Responses to “Hooded Towels”


  1. 1 mijk January 31, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Where the hell do you live? If I sent my kids out barefooted I would probably get to have lots of talks with social workers ;)

  2. 2 Beth January 31, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Thanks for the link! This is going on my to do list for our vacation at the beach!

  3. 3 SugarShop (Dena) January 31, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Adorable miss linda!! Hope you are doing well, just thought I would pop in for a hellooo!

  4. 4 Prairie Girl January 31, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Came across your site and just love it. Will be back for sure!

    And I can totally relate to those special people you meet as therapists. In my past I was a physiotherapist and back on my first placement I remember an old gentleman with Parkinson’s who, as he would shuffle along down the hallway, would self talk, saying “come on legs, do your thing”. To this day, whenever I need to get somewhere quickly or am on a run, I remember the old gent and his pep talk for his legs.

  5. 5 Michelle January 31, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I just made two hair wrap things for when my girls have wet hair, and was on the third sewing machine needle by the time I was done. It was ridiculous, for four super short seams! Guess I learned my lesson, universal needles do *not* equal heavy duty denim needles… Love those hooded towels, and the cutie models.

  6. 6 Natalie Jost January 31, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Hey, I have two one-year-old girls, you should send me something to take pictures of sometime. :) Acutally the weather is horrible here right now, ice and snow from head to toe. I love that fabric with the trees, where did you find that?

  7. 7 randomrevelations February 1, 2009 at 10:10 am

    So cute! I love your little models. And I must say that I love the color of your fence. New? Mine’s just gray. Sorry about all of the broken needles. If you are feeling too nostalgic, you can come over here and I’ll color on your face with markers!!

  8. 8 Georgia February 1, 2009 at 10:42 am

    These are awesome, and will be great for warming up after swimming lessons this summer. Thank you for sharing!

  9. 9 Marcia "HDMac" February 1, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Love LOVE this!!! Great for my grandchildren!

  10. 10 Adrienne February 1, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    This has been on my to buy/sew list ~ they are so cute. Someone made one for my oldest which has now been passed on to my youngest – these are the best towels! Love the combos you made.

  11. 11 Marquita February 2, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Not only the towels look adorable, but also the children look like they are having great fun :-)

  12. 12 Kashoan February 2, 2009 at 8:32 am

    Those turned out great! It looks warm outside in your yard! :)

  13. 14 Beth February 3, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Cute! I think you may need to make some for your sons so they can pretend to be Jedis. :)

    I really enjoyed your post, too. Early friendships really are important.

  14. 15 christina (apronstrings) February 5, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Oh I love them! It’d too bad my four month old doesn’t need more than the ten other hooded towels that I made her. Though, I’ll print these instructions out for when she gets too big for hers and needs ten more.

  15. 16 redrandom February 5, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    This is an adorable idea! This could turn an ordinary towel into something fun and different. I have young siblings and I know they would love a towel like this.

  16. 18 Tiff@Three Peas February 9, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I love those! I have been looking for a pattern for hooded towels. Thanks for the links!!

  17. 19 Aunt Spicy February 9, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Isn’t it amazing the role that others play in our lives, from your dear friends to your magic hands! Thanks for sharing!

  18. 20 Shannon March 2, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    My MIL some of the same hooded towels for my daughter a few months ago but the hoods don’t have the cute coordinated fabric like you made. that’s a great idea!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers