Favorite things: Pins

Pins vs.  hem/quilt clips I got at the store.

clips vs pins

These little clips are just like the ones we they sell for your hair.  Seemed like a great idea for securing quilt binding.   Not so for me.  The pins win.  The clips just don’t keep the binding in place like pins do for the way I bind my quilts.  Hooray for pins!

11 Responses to “Favorite things: Pins”


  1. 1 Kama March 1, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    I am doing the binding on my first quilt and am looking for advice. I have already sewn it on with the machine and am now hand stitching the back side with a hidden stitch. This seems to be taking forever. Do you normally use the machine to sew the whole thing on? Any advice you have would be really appreciated! :)

  2. 2 knittinginpink March 1, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I’ve been meaning to try the hair clips on my next quilt binding(I’ve been using pins so far). I look forward to seeing if it works for me or not.

  3. 3 Vicki W March 1, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    One of my friends uses the clips but they don’t work so well for me. I’m sticking with pins too!

  4. 4 Melanie March 2, 2009 at 1:22 am

    I’m thinking I would like to pay people to put on all my bindings. ha! I still have not finished that little doll blanket for haley – only cuz it needs the binding. Maybe I’ll machine stitch the whole thing – I hate hand stitching it on.

  5. 5 Kate March 2, 2009 at 3:51 am

    It’s not just me! I bought some recently and tried them, but they are not just for me. Pins definitely hold my binding betetr.

  6. 6 karen March 2, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I only use clips as I want my quilts mobile for road trips. And pins hurt when I find them in the seat of the car! LOL The only time I add a pin is in the corner when I could use that third hand.
    Melanie – I do hand sew bindings for people. I could handstich all day!

  7. 7 Shannon March 2, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Where do you shop for fabric?

  8. 9 april (faraboverubies) March 3, 2009 at 10:51 am

    that is such a simple, smart idea! I’m going to try it…thanks!

  9. 10 Sarah March 4, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks for the review. I don’t quilt (at least not yet – I’m sure that will happen too soon enough!) I’ve been wondering about these clips & if they actually work!

    Love your blog!!

  10. 11 Chris March 6, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I just tried these binding clips for the first time this week on a lap-sized quilt. I definitely prefer the pins, HOWEVER, I have three small kids who are constantly climbing on me so not having to worry about the pins poking them or being pushed against me was much nicer :-)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers