Sewing Pattern Written-itis

It was Spring break here this past week and I was able to get some big things on my list done.  #1:  finalize my latest pattern, and send it to the printer.  #2: reformat two of my older patterns and send them to the printer.  Whew!  I have learned a TON about printing in the last week!  I am so glad that’s done!  So what do I do when I’m done with a pattern?  I send in my machine for it’s belated annual tune up (see ‘ya later, Bernie!) and r-e-l-a-x  away from the machine.  I decided to pick up my knitting needles after a long time away.  It took me several minutes just to remember how to cast on – that’s how long it’s been.  

This time around, instead of having my instructions printed at Kinko’s (where they know me by name) and spending hours folding and stapling, I’ve sent my files off to a professional printer who folds and staples for me.  Needless to say, I’m very excited!  Professionally printed patterns require some professional designing.  And I know my limitations!  So I hired a graphic designer, the super talented and gracious Natalie Jost.  I made some new Mini Patchfolios for the cover shot.

Small Books

And hopefully when the patterns come back, they’ll look something like this:

Small Books Pattern Cover

6 Responses to “Sewing Pattern Written-itis”


  1. 1 Kashoan March 23, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    This is so exciting! You should be very proud of yourself. :) We are in Spring break around here this week….yours sound much more productive than mine!

  2. 2 Elaine March 23, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    I just can’t believe how far you’ve come in a year. Your pattern is beautiful, just beautiful. Congratulations are certainly in order.

  3. 3 Natalie Jost March 23, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    I finally got around to doing some small books and they’re so neat! Audrey Anna loved an art book I made for her. Thanks so much for hiring me, and for mentioning it on your blog!

  4. 4 Organizing Mommy March 24, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Do you have some posts about writing patterns? I have some designs but I’m not sure how to take it to the next step..

  5. 5 Stephanie March 25, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Congrats! This is exciting!

  6. 6 Haley March 26, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I just purchased..and made the mini patchfolio…I’m in love!! I’m making four more this week for my friends! Thanks for such a great pattern..and such a wonderful design.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers