Happy Circles::Tools::The Circle Attachment

It’s APRIL!  Yay!  I’m starting off circle month with some circle tools that I use and love.

First up is the circle embroidery attachment that I just got for my sewing machine.  It’s genius, really.  Like why-didn’t-I-invent-it-myself? genius.  It screws into my machine and sews circles.  Cool, huh?  This is what it looks like on the machine.  There’s a little pin that holds the center of the fabric in place.  The fabric spins around the pin as it feed through the machine.

Circle Embroidery Attachment

And here it is in action.

 
Are you as amazed as I am?   This was the first time I’d played with it, and yes, I should have had some interfacing or stabilizer on the back.  I straight stitched, added some decorative stitches, then with a little bit ‘o fusible webbing, added the brown linen.  Well, how about if we add some blanket stitches around that baby?

Here’s the final product.

Circle Attachment

Let me just say that my machine is not an embroidery machine.  Even a regular machine can do this, as long as you have a similar attachment that fits your machine. 

Ahhh – so much fun and so much success on my first try!  I’m happy.

Feel free to sew along!  Info on the button and flickr group are here.

35 Responses to “Happy Circles::Tools::The Circle Attachment”


  1. 1 Stacey April 1, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Wow, so cool. Another one of those “gotta have” sewing tools.

  2. 2 a peppermint penguin April 1, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Don’t know that attachment. My Husqvarna extension table has some holes in it and comes with the exceedinly high-tech gadget of a pin that you mount through the holes to similar effect. I’ve not actually used it, because it’s rather far away from the needle and I wanted smaller circles. You can get a similar effect buy sellotaping a drawing pin to the bed of your machine, but you have to get the pin EXACTLY in the middle of an appliqué circle or it finishes wonky.

    Drawing pin = the wee round thing often used for attaching posters to walls and much used at Primary school for children’s artwork attchement.

    Sellotape = stuff you use for parcels.

    Never sure if these sort of terms are too British for understanding!

    LOVE the loopy effect, which stitch setting was that!?

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 3 craftapple April 2, 2010 at 6:48 pm

      That is a great idea! And thanks for the translation. :) I think the drawing pin you’re talking about is what we call a thumbtack. And I think that would work really great. The attachment wasn’t cheap and I do think it would be possible to make something myself that would work. Let me think about it some more…
      :)

  3. 4 Halfway Crafter April 1, 2010 at 4:40 am

    Wow, I never even knew such a thing existed!

  4. 5 Beth April 1, 2010 at 6:42 am

    That’s cool! I also didn’t know that attachment existed.

  5. 6 Joanna April 1, 2010 at 6:57 am

    OH MY WORD!!!

    Please please please someone tell me Viking makes a circle attachment for my machine.

  6. 8 Becky April 1, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Where can I find such a toy … er … tool? I just recently learned how to use my newly purchased quilting foot for my 30 year old Kenmore sewing machine. Can I find one of these to fit it too? Please tell me what you know …

  7. 10 Kristine April 1, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Ooooh, I’ve been eyeing this tool for my machine! Looks awesome!

  8. 12 Debbie April 2, 2010 at 8:38 am

    WOW! What a cool tool! I’ll probably “need” one for my machine. Didn’t know they existed.

    • 13 craftapple April 2, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      I didn’t know they existed either! And when I found out, it was a matter of hours before I had one. :) Those sewing machine folks know how to reel us in, don’t they?

  9. 14 UK lass in US April 2, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I doubt that they make them for my cheapy machine, but I wonder if stuff from other machines will fit. Hmm, just as I thought that I would just happily avoid ever sewing circles you go and show me cool contraptions like that. I just first need to get over my fear of messing with the sewing machine…

  10. 16 cindy April 2, 2010 at 11:29 am

    You had me at blanket stitch! I need one. I like your new circle wallpaper to go with your theme!

  11. 18 LisaBellaBags April 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Rulers…I quilt and make totes and therefore use rulers nearly every day. There are wonderful little things to help with the rulers. I don’t know what they are called, but they are little sticky circles made of something like sandpaper. You stick them on the underside of the ruler and then the ruler does NOT slide while cutting. They are marvelous!

    • 19 craftapple April 6, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      yes, I’ve heard of these, but haven’t ever used them. I looked for some at JoAnn’s last night, although I didn’t look very hard. I had a friend with me and we were talking way too much! :)

  12. 20 sweetlittleknits April 4, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    This is so cool! I have been wondering what else you could use this for. Do you think you could use it to piece curves for a quilt? Or is it just for embellishment?

    • 21 craftapple April 6, 2010 at 4:24 pm

      You could definitely applique circles to a quilt, but I’m not super experienced in sewing curves together. I don’t think they feed together under the presser foot so easily…I think there is a lot of pinning involved. I’m not so helpful am I??

  13. 22 Debra April 5, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Love that attachment! It looks super easy too!

    • 23 craftapple April 6, 2010 at 1:02 am

      It is pretty easy once you get the hang of it. Not sure how long it’s been around, but if I had been a generation older sewing wouldn’t have been half the fun!

  14. 24 Kerry April 15, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    How did I not know about this!?! I love sewing circles and, even though they don’t always turn out perfect, I do it all the time. I came here from your sister’s site, all I was looking for was a baby shoe pattern to pass on to a friend and I find this treasure for me! Ahh the internet (of course, this is also why the job of looking up said shoe pattern takes an hour instead of 5 minutes:)

  15. 26 Tiff@DogwoodLaneDesigns April 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    OMG I have to have that attachment! Where can I find it?

    • 27 craftapple April 16, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      Each machine has it’s own kind of circle attachment. I would google “circle embroidery attachment” and your sewing machine brand. I have a Bernina so got the presser foot at a Bernina dealer. Hope this helps!

  16. 28 bec April 16, 2010 at 7:17 am

    gee, thanks. something else i need to buy!

  17. 29 CJ May 7, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I have a Bernina too but the closest dealer is about 90 minutes from here. Can you tell me how much this cool attachment is going to be?? That way I don’t look so shocked when I get to the store and they tell me. :D

  18. 30 Nancy Webber June 12, 2010 at 8:20 am

    I only hope that Brother is reading this blog!

    Catch up Brother!!!

    Cheers.

  19. 31 Gloria Pollack September 18, 2010 at 7:26 am

    I love the circle attachment and would like one for my 30 year old Kenmore. Where did you get the attachment? I’d love to try this!

  20. 33 Mike Witter April 6, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    Does Elna make this attachment? If so, where can I get it!


  1. 1 Happy Circles::Doodling With Thread « Craft Apple Trackback on May 5, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers