Happy Circles::Doodling With Thread

I love linen. 

I love topstitching.

It just seemed natural to “design” some fabric with a combination of the two.

doodling with thread

I have to thank my circle embroidery attachment, for without her, none of this would have been possible.   I love how the scalloped stitch looks like petals on a flower.

doodling with thread

Not really sure if this is called thread doodling, but until I find another name for it, that’s what I’ll call it.  Did you know you can even doodle on fabric using the same technique as free-motion quilting?  It’s lots of fun, but I’m not super skilled at it yet.  Here’s a sample on some wool felt:

doodling with thread

 
 
 
Yes, yes, it’s May, but I can keep the Happy Circles theme going, right?
More here  and here.

15 Responses to “Happy Circles::Doodling With Thread”


  1. 1 tina May 5, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I luv linen and I luv topstitching too! Beautiful stitching.

  2. 3 umma May 6, 2010 at 1:15 am

    I’d call it doodling it. Whatever it’s name is it’s gorgeous. You did a great job. I dare not try free motion quilting, but whoo hoo you!

  3. 5 a peppermint penguin May 6, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Well we don’t like ALL the same things that would be just spooky! But I do love this. And I just got the Poppy Treffry book and have been wanting to try scribble stitching for ages. I’m useless at FMQ so I’m not holding high hopes.

    Glad you’ve extended the Happy Circles – one month isn’t enough!

    Does digging out a circle applique UFO and unpicking the wonky stitching on the last circle constitute working on your Happy Circles?

    That brown linen is just gorgeous!

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 6 craftapple May 6, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      Yes, a circle applique UFO definitely counts! I’ll do a post on FMQ. It’s really a lot of fun and totally change the look of a quilt.

      Just looked up Poppy Treffry – cute stuff – gotta look around her site some more.

      Do you have a blog Ms. Peppermint Penguin?

  4. 7 Becky May 6, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Linen and doodles make a great combination. Those are so pretty and I can just imagine the possibilities. Fun!

  5. 9 elizabeth c. May 6, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    wow! these are awesome!

  6. 13 Cindi May 9, 2010 at 9:16 am

    I love your thread art! I love my circle attachment and am always looking for ways to use it! Thank you for the ideas.

    • 14 craftapple May 10, 2010 at 11:04 am

      Isn’t the attachment a fun little toy? It took a little getting used to, then turning the fabric and seeing what came out with the various stitches was fun!

  7. 15 Heather May 13, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Those are so cool. I love the contrast of the dark brown and light thread. These would make great accents for skirts and bags. Just super cute.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers