Hung

We moved into our house 5 months ago.  FIVE MONTHS!  And piles of frames were still all over the house.  My excuse is that the house needed to be painted first.  But that was done last month so really I have no excuse.  Finally, with Joanna to help me, my stuff is hung!  Everyone should have a sweet sister that helps them get things done.  She showed me this nifty trick for hassle-free hanging – you’re a genius, girl.  We cut out paper the size of the frames and folded them in half, marking the midpoint.  I taped them up until I liked the arrangement, then used the midpoint to mark the spot to nail into the wall.

dining b4

dining room

Also got a little piece of artwork hung above my craft room door.  It’s RED!  I really wanted a red door someplace in the house and I’m so happy with it.  Red is my happy color.

red door-Lo-Fi

Everyone should have a door in their happy color.  Do you have a happy color?

20 Responses to “Hung”


  1. 1 Alisa May 19, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Very good tip! I am moving next month after being in the same house for 10 years. This will help me. Red is also my happy colour. One year I spray painted my plastic patio pots fire engine red and it made me happy every time I looked out the glass door.

    • 2 craftapple May 19, 2011 at 9:07 pm

      It’s funny how a color can make such a difference. When we moved in our laundry room was a rusty orange. Once it was painted it felt so much better to be in there. Happy moving! It’s been nice for me to start on a clean slate especially since my style has changed quite a bit since we were first in our old house.

  2. 3 Vicki W May 19, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    My front door is that beautiful red!

  3. 5 revel designs May 19, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    I knew that trick but you know me… lazy and impulsive to the core!! Looks great! I love the bench on that side.
    Where did you get the artwork?

  4. 7 Stitched Together May 20, 2011 at 3:48 am

    Your sister is very clever and I will be stealing that tip when I can persuade my man that we really do need to hang stuff on the walls that were painted almost two years ago!!!!

  5. 8 A Peppermint Penguin May 20, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    That finished shot of the pictures looks like something out of a posh magazine! Well done.

    I have to say the post title would’ve made me worry about clicking through if it was anyone but you ;-)

    I love green – a lot – but for really happy and especially for a door, Yellow.

    Cheers,
    AJ

  6. 10 Freda Tong May 20, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I like that picture arrangement! And the red doors!

  7. 11 Laura May 22, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    Very nice. I like the new spot for your “crying uncle” bench. Hmmm, you are very brave. White carpet. How do you keep it clean with boys? I am slowing making every floor in my house some variation of “dirt colored”. Have a happy day.

  8. 12 Cindy May 23, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Red. Red is my happy color. I love your red doors. Suddenly, I have the urge to paint.

  9. 13 stephanie May 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Hello! I have not been here for a while…fun to catch up! I am loving that red door and red bench!

  10. 14 ChaseK8 May 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Love the picture hanging idea.. so smart… and RED is my happy color too… I am going to have to find the time and energy to get it somewhere in my house as well… Thanks for the tips! :)

  11. 15 Ramona May 27, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Love the tip. I will be using it when I hang the my family pictures this summer. Thanks!

  12. 16 kat June 2, 2011 at 4:19 am

    I have been in our house for 30 years and still have lots to do to make it warm and inviting. I’m loving your photo collage .. A Stunning display!

  13. 17 grenouille78 June 9, 2011 at 12:10 am

    For all the times I have moved in my life and forced my husband to hold up pictures while I stood across the room, this paper idea has never occurred to me. It’s so stunningly slap-upside-the-head simple! We’re moving again in a few weeks, so this time dh won’t lose all the feeling in his arms while I decorate!
    I like how the bright red doors look in *your* house, but for me, my happy color is green. :)

  14. 18 Elaine June 10, 2011 at 6:45 am

    red is definitely my happy color too!!!

  15. 19 doolallytat June 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    I am in love with that beautiful red bench. I recently painted an old Charity shop found sideboard Turquoise its amazing what some spray paint can do for an unloved piece of salvaged furniture.

  16. 20 Jenette August 29, 2011 at 9:40 am

    So fun to find your blog! Love it. If blogs were a color, yours would be one of my “happy” ones, because it makes me smile when I read it. Been trying to get around to painting my front door red, but now that I’ve read this….hmmm, might have to paint a different (inside door) red…might paint them all different colors (you may have created a monster, as some people have taste and some people just have crazy). Hope you have a wonderful day, Maybe if I am in Texas some time I will drop by and see your red door and your clever children (loved their e-mails). Jenette (Johnston) Clay


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 435 other followers