A little lace with your canvas?

This summer I made a mental note to resist buying myself a bag in Taiwan.  Bags with that handmade look are everywhere you go.  I resisted and resisted until one day I abandoned my family part-way up a mountain hike.  I couldn’t take it.  The mountain was too steep for me and we had barely covered a fifth of the trail and it was the easiest part.  My husband reminded me that we were on vacation and there was no reason I had to kill myself to finish the hike.  That was all I needed.  I hugged everyone goodbye and made my way back down to civilization with my backpack on my back and decided to go shopping instead.  The problem is that shopping with a backpack is really inconvenient.  What makes it more inconvenient is carrying your camera on your shoulder because it won’t fit in your backpack.  At this point purchasing a bag was a necessity and this is what I found:
a little lace with your canvas?
Rugged canvas paired with sweet lace and a sturdy twill handle.  I would never thought of putting this granny lace on a bag like this, but it works for me on so many levels.  I thought it might inspire you too!

10 Responses to “A little lace with your canvas?”


  1. 1 Debbie September 21, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    That is so pretty!! It’s perfect for those of us that love our jeans w/ just a touch of femininity.

  2. 3 Pam September 21, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    It is a great bag…I think I’ll try and make one! Thanks for sharing it!

  3. 5 Cindi September 22, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I have to smile, you still have your love of bags! I am so glad!

  4. 7 Amy September 22, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Taiwan IS the place to buy bags. :)

  5. 10 browneandsinger May 24, 2013 at 5:20 am

    Lovely idea, doesn’t look as though it would be too hard to re-create at home either, I’ve found my project for this weekend! :)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers