Fabric Storage Found!

Cameron 3 Cubby & 3 Drawer Base Set

I’ve been looking for a while for the perfect solution to store my fabric. It had to have open-front shelving so I could see my fabric.  The shelves had to be short, because fabric doesn’t stack very high and any extra space would just be wasted.  And finally, it had to be CUTE.  I wasn’t going to spend $ on something that wasn’t cute.  Then I found it (see photo).  It was the right color, right height, right size and exactly the right level of cuteness.  It was a splurge, but I will splurge for cuteness & perfection.

When the shelves finally came, I opened the box and the first thing I noticed was how cute they were.  The second thing I noticed was how smelly they were!  But not to worry – I opened the windows and aired them out for a couple of days.  Then when I thought it was safe,  I started getting my fabric folded into perfect little piles to fit in those perfect little cubbies.  That’s when it hit me.  Not only did the smell seem stronger, I was getting a headache from it.  I can’t sew with a headache.  :(   A little online research told me exactly what I needed to know – the MDF used in this furniture releases formaldehyde, polluting the air in my house not for a few days but continuing to release it for several years.  I think the paint is also partially to blame.  The sad thing is that this furniture is marketed for use by children. *sigh*  Needless to say, I called, complained and got it all returned.

It was around that time that we got a new handyman.  He does it all, including building furniture from scratch (so jealous). So after going over the dimensions, paint color, and wood, he brought me the finished product: my early Christmas present.
Fabric Storage

The only adaptation I made was cutting one set of shelves into 2 shorter shelves.  These shelves hold WAY more fabric than the shelves I had before.  And the old shelves took up more space.  So happy with these.  They cost $100 more than the ones I returned – definitely worth the cost of no headaches!  Wishing I knew about cabinet makers before – am now a huge fan of custom furniture.

17 Responses to “Fabric Storage Found!”


  1. 1 Message In A Fold December 17, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    This storage unit is divine! What a bonus to have a handyman that can create awesomeness! Your fabrics look so colorful and inviting in this unit. I’m sure you will love this piece for a long time.

    Leslie

  2. 2 Georgina Emery December 18, 2012 at 3:22 am

    I <3 this! If only I had the room for such a thing instead of all my fabric being dispersed into different boxes and chests! x

  3. 4 beki December 19, 2012 at 9:50 am

    Wow, what a wonderful storage solution! Lucky you!!

  4. 6 A Peppermint Penguin December 19, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    1. envy. 2. envy. 3. hilarity, my fabric would not fit in those shelves 4. what’s in the cupboards?

    Go you for sending back the outgassing first lot! I’m glad you have such a nice piece of furniture.

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 7 craftapple December 20, 2012 at 11:09 am

      Hey AJ! When my fabric filled the shelves, I was shocked. Needless to say I’m not buying any more until I use up some of this fabric! I love the drawers because it fits the non-glamorous stuff like batting and interfacing. Merry Christmas!

      On Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 11:47 AM, Craft App

  5. 8 Marie December 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    This is lovely…might need to start looking for a cabinet maker too!

  6. 9 Beth December 21, 2012 at 8:50 am

    What a great and beautiful solution!!!

  7. 10 kaleenamarxhausen December 21, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    These are just some great ideas! Loving all of the examples, ideas, pictures! Makes the mind wander at all of the fantastic things you can create!

  8. 11 pinktoes December 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Love the shelves! And the big letters too!

  9. 12 Craft and Decorate Blog December 27, 2012 at 6:48 am

    What a nice craft room ^_^ loved the cabinet but i guess i loved the SEW letters more than the cabinet :)

  10. 14 Melody December 29, 2012 at 5:19 am

    What a great piece of furniture…….I am all for custom anything because it helps the local economy…….enjoy your wonderful piece!

  11. 15 ContentedLittleMummy February 3, 2013 at 7:50 am

    Please be careful storing your fabric this way. The natural light bleaches it, I found out the hard way opening up a piece of fabric and finding half had been bleached and it was ruined. I keep mine now in plastic storage boxes in a dedicated room for fabric. It may be worth investing in some plastic boxes small enough the fit on your unit?

    Sophie http://www.contentedlittlemummy.com

  12. 16 *Wisher* March 5, 2013 at 2:29 am

    Wow, thanks for the idea, I have been looking for ideas on how to store fabrics. Lucky you to have a handyman.. =)

  13. 17 Laura March 8, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    Very pretty cupboard and shelf. You don’t even have to sew. Just sit in a chair with a cup of tea and stare at it. Deep sigh of contentment. By the way, have you seen the furniture site by Anna White? She has tons of very clear, free plans for furniture. We made a fort-bed that turned out great.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 439 other followers