Everything’s Coming up Daisies!

Have you seen a daisy maker?  Got me one off of Ebay and spent several evenings perfecting the art of making a daisy.  The little loom comes in several sizes and shapes (round, square, hexie).  Different yarns produce a different fluffiness factor and depending on how many layers deep you go there are lots of possibilities for the end product. After trying several different kinds of yarn, I finally settled on a silk/cotton blend for the petals and some sock yarn for the center.

Yarn Daisies

They are really quite floppy when done so I made a little daisy rack, stretched it, and sprayed on some starch to stiffen it up. Yep, it’s a form of daisy torture.
Daisy on a rack

So what to do with a whole bunch of daisies? I stitched one onto the front of a mini patchfolio - a little stitch for every petal.
Daisy Mini Patchfolio
Between the girly quilt I made and this little project my pink fabric stash is almost depleted.
Mini Patchfolio
Some starched ones went to make cards.
Daisy Card

I’ve got quite a few left and am open to ideas!

4 Responses to “Everything’s Coming up Daisies!”


  1. 1 alterknitive September 9, 2013 at 8:31 am

    I just got a daisy maker (or three sizes of daisy makers). Apparently you can crochet them together, which I shall be trying when I find the time!

  2. 2 Debbie Stickley September 10, 2013 at 9:06 am

    I have something similar called a flower loom by Prym. With a board and moveable pegs making it very versitile. There are so many peg configurations.
    You’ve inspired me, I think I’ll have to get mine out again. I forgot how truely pretty, but so simple they are, you’ve inspired me

  3. 3 Elizabeth September 21, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Have been cruising your blog- You are one crafty apple!!!

  4. 4 Karen Sue October 8, 2013 at 10:03 am

    daisies are so cute! Bet you just see a place for one every where you look!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers