Doggie Bed

I love my little dog, Peanut.  He follows me everywhere:  sleeps next to me when I’m migraining, sits under the desk when we are doing school, goes for walks with me, and always finds a soft pile of fabric scraps or batting to settle onto when I’m sewing.  He loves batting – scratching at it until it shreds, then curling up on it for a nap.  It was time for him to have a special place in the sewing room just for him.  A well-deserved doggie bed – he’s earned it.

Doggie Bed

Being a small dog that looks like he has eye lashes, Peanut often gets mistaken for a girl.  But he’s all boy – no girly bed for this guy.  Fabrics are all a year or two old, I think:  Parson Gray (Curious Nature) and A Stitch In Color by United Notions.  I quilted some pieced strips and sewed it around a gusseted people pillow.  Then. I. waited.  It took 3 days for him to figure out that he could sleep on it before I was able to get some pictures.  It’s been cold here so Peanut was wearing his sweater.

Doggie Bed

I did some fake piping along the edges.  It helped the cushion cover to keep its shape.  For a dog that came to us without any knowledge of basic commands (sit, stay, etc), it is really hard to get a picture of him.  The minute I get down close to the ground, he tries to climb in my lap.  For that reason alone, I’m really happy with the shot below.  He stayed.  I mean he really stayed in one spot long enough for me to take the shot.

Doggie Bed

 

He takes his new doggie bed seriously.  Very seriously.

6 Responses to “Doggie Bed”


  1. 1 StitchNSew November 25, 2013 at 1:18 am

    He is too cute. The bed looks great. By the way he is in dreamland I think he is very happy with your hard work

  2. 2 Stitched Together November 25, 2013 at 6:08 am

    Those pictures are great. The bed looks amazing, I’m sure Peanut will love curling up on it while you sew.

  3. 3 Susan in SC November 25, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    What a sweetie Peanut is! I love his new bed and his sweater!

    Susan

  4. 5 Gjeometry November 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    TOO CUTE!!! And, love the bed you made for him as well.

  5. 6 all my crosses January 2, 2014 at 11:06 pm

    SOoo cute! :) and what a beautiful gift you made for him, you can see he loves it :)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers