Spray Painted Acorns

sprayed acorn

There is an oak tree in the park by our house that drops the largest acorns.  We collected some this fall and turned them into ornaments.  I sprayed the hats with glitter paint and the balls with a gold satin.  After a couple of weeks of letting the fumes dissipate in the garage, they were easily turned into ornaments for the tree.
Spray-painted Acorn Christmas Tree Ornament

I personally prefer the ones with bigger hats.

Finding twins are a rare treat.

acorn twinsI know, I know, Christmas trees are pine trees and acorns are from oak trees.  Haha!  Does it have to make sense?  I hope not, especially since our tree is actually fake – made out of plastic.  Yep, plastic + acorn = pretty. :)

Merry Christmas, everyone!  Hope you have a wonderful time with friends and family!

4 Responses to “Spray Painted Acorns”


  1. 1 vintagefrills December 19, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    These look amazing! I have a huge oak tree in my garden and will grab some acorns next year before the squirrels get them and give this a go. Xxx

  2. 2 uklassinus December 21, 2013 at 11:52 am

    Beautiful! So glad to know that I’m not the only one going foraging at the local park, too.

  3. 3 magicgenie@gmail.com January 4, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    These are Burr Oaks. They do make really big acorns! Lovely trees too. :)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers