Economy Block Quilt

Remember back in the good ‘ole days of blogging when we just went shopping and took a picture of our pile of new fabric and called it a post?  There’s is nothing keeping me from posting like that these days except myself.  I feel like the bar is set higher – like I have to produce something really nice before I can post.  If that item is a quilt, then well, it takes many many hours of sewing to produce a project.  And while sewing is fun, it isn’t the same kind of fun as say, shopping for fabric. economy 1 This quilt took me over 20 hours to make.  I know this because I’ve been trying to improve my Mandarin and I watched 21 episodes of a Taiwan soap opera pieceing and sewing these blocks together.  It was filled with dramatic moments which included love, brain injury, amnesia, recollection of said love after many years.  Not normally my cup of tea, but if you want to watch free Taiwan soaps, you take what is available on the internets.  So my soap opera wrapped up and I still hadn’t started the quilting!  All this for a small baby quilt which I can’t sell because no one will pay over $200 for a baby quilt.  But I digress. economy 3 This was fun sewing.  Fun because almost all fabrics came from the scrap bag.  I did panic a little when I thought the blocks might clash with each other, and I think they do, but the busy clashing seems to work together okay.  I put my least favorite blocks along the outside. Positives: – Super cute quilt block. – Those fabrics that have stand-alone images?  They are perfect for the center square of this block. – All fabric for the quilt front can come from your scrap basket – Tutorial is well done and easy to follow.  Find it here. Negatives: – Time – each 5-inch block has 9 pieces.  After working several hours I had enough blocks to make a small pillow.  The above quilt is 40″x40″.  I would have made it larger, but at the point the decision needed to be made, 17 more blocks felt like too many. -Using anything thicker than quilting fabric can create problems during the quilting process.  The points where all the seams come together get very thick. Check out the Flickr group for ideas.  There are some super cute quilts over there!

14 Responses to “Economy Block Quilt”


  1. 1 Fran February 28, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    Such a pretty quilt!

  2. 3 peppermintpenguin February 28, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    it is a very nice quilt!

    Blog about the weather, your lunch, and a pile of fabric. Old school.

  3. 5 Carolyn @ Sweet Boater Chick March 1, 2014 at 2:38 am

    Your baby quilt turned out super cute. It does take a lot of time making those blocks, even just deciding on what scraps to use takes time. I made mine with a 4 inch center so it is a bit bigger, but I agree, time consuming. And I say why not blog about everything :)

    • 6 craftapple March 1, 2014 at 9:42 am

      Caryoln, I found some pictures of your quilt on Flickr. Very cute! Is it done yet? I agree, lots of my time was spent staring at fabric, trying to figure out which fabrics to pair together. It was overwhelming! I considered leaving out the blocks that didn’t turn out so well, but with so much time invested I couldn’t think of tossing them.

  4. 7 Lizzie March 1, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    Lovely!!

  5. 9 ruthsplace March 3, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    Your quilt is super cute! If you are looking for TV shows in Mandarin there is one called “If you are the one” you should be able to find it on hulu or something similar. It’s filmed in Nanjing and is a dating show in Mandarin. I love it, it’s a bit off the wall.

    Of course, I need the sub-titles to help supplement my very rudimentary Mandarin.

  6. 12 Indigo Blue April 16, 2014 at 4:45 am

    This is gorgeous! Just my style and even better that you were able to use scraps. Your scrap bag is soooooo much prettier than mine.
    Lovely work.

  7. 13 Keep It Thimble May 5, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    Love this quilt! The colors work well together, hard to believe it is a scrap quilt. Also, I can totally relate to you about the blog posts. I haven’t blogged in months because I haven’t completed anything!!

  8. 14 bonsaihewes August 18, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Beautiful quilt – I love the detail!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers