Building Blocks

My boys’ piano teacher is due in a few weeks.  This is their first baby.  Her husband loves Legos – so much so that they have a room in their house dedicated to his toys.  BUT the baby is coming and the little one needs a nursery so the Lego room is being converted the baby’s room.  Time to box those blocks up, Mister!

We love Legos over here as well.  I sometimes wonder if my boys will grow up and continue to love building things with overpriced plastic blocks.  I hope their wives will be as understanding as Mrs. Elizabeth is with her husband.

So what do you give a baby girl whose parents love Legos?  A Lego quilt, of course!  Legos are perfect for designing quilt blocks. Below is my quilt designed out of Duplo blocks.

Duplos

  And the Duplo Quilt:

Duplo Quilt Please tell me that it looks like Duplo blocks!!!

I backed it with an Ikea sheet from a few years ago.

Duplo / Lego Quilt

I hope she likes it!

19 Responses to “Building Blocks”


  1. 1 dolliesdaydream April 22, 2014 at 2:28 am

    I love that quilt – how amazing to be given something so personal and meaningful to them instead of just clothes :)

  2. 2 ruthsplace April 22, 2014 at 4:00 am

    It’s fabulous, and it does look like duplo.

  3. 4 suth2 April 22, 2014 at 4:22 am

    Certainly does look like Duplo. I love the creative use of the Ikea sheet and the emphasised circular quilting stitch on the back.

  4. 6 Katie (@kj_clem) April 22, 2014 at 7:05 am

    I love it, Linda! It totally looks like duplos!

    • 7 craftapple April 22, 2014 at 9:39 am

      Thanks, Katie! It’s one of those things where the kids think it looks like Duplos, but my husband took a few too many seconds to figure it out and it made me nervous. :)

  5. 8 Bethany April 22, 2014 at 9:21 am

    I think I’m stealing this idea for my Lego loving nephews :)

  6. 10 revel designs April 22, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Love the colors!! You are one of the best gift givers that I know!

  7. 12 Jessica April 22, 2014 at 10:36 pm

    Love it! I made a scrappy circle quilt for my son and now the other one needs something for his bed. This might be just the thing to tie the room together!

  8. 14 Kelsie F April 23, 2014 at 9:20 am

    I showed my 3 year old and he said “I want that Lego quilt!” Brilliant idea! I was thinking about a Lego quilt and wondering how to do it. Thanks for sharing!

    • 15 craftapple April 23, 2014 at 9:49 am

      Well, if it has passed the toddler test then that has made my day! Happy sewing! This was a fun project. Hugs to your son!

      • 16 Kelsie F April 23, 2014 at 10:03 am

        What size is your quilt? What dimension are the square blocks? How wide are the circles? I’ve been quilting long enough that I can figure out my own patterns if I have dimension estimates. If you don’t mind ;)

  9. 17 uklassinus April 23, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    I asked my 11 year old son and he thought it looked like legos – then asked if I could make him one… Mrs. Elizabeth is a lucky lady.

    As an aside, I was always disappointed when the day came that my kids didn’t need help with their legos. Maybe I should just accept that I like playing with them, too. A room dedicated to legos might be a bit much, though.

  10. 18 makeitsnappy April 28, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    Really clever! I can’t believe they won’t love it.

  11. 19 Keep It Thimble May 5, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Yes, it looks like Duplo! I wish my son were still little so I could make him this ;). I am sure they both will love it.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag

Date Night Handbag & Carryall

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 439 other followers