Sophie’s Ruffle Quilt

Sophie Ruffle 3

Ah, I love this quilt. If I had little elves that would appear after I went to bed and quilt for me I’d make a big one for myself. But alas – just me and my wimpy arms.  These arms are only barely capable of quilting baby quilts.

 

Sophie Ruffle 2

 

I’m a little late. Baby Sophie is already 1 month old.

 

Sophie Ruffle 1

 

Fabric – Front and Back:  Heather Bailey’s True Colors – Olive and Dove Dots

Fabric – Ruffle:  Heather Bailey Lottie Da – Olive

I monogrammed her initial on this quilt, then when it was all done I realized that I haven’t seen much monogramming around lately.  And then I realized that *gasp* it might not be cool anymore.  So tell me, please, is monogramming still cool?

11 Responses to “Sophie’s Ruffle Quilt”


  1. 1 Nicole July 25, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    Monogramming is super cool because you don’t see it anymore. Everyone that I have given monogrammed things to (towel to a very young hip couple for their wedding, crochet baby blankets, etc) loves them. That blanket will be a hit!

    • 2 craftapple July 26, 2014 at 10:59 am

      Thanks so much, for your kind words, Nicole. Sometimes I realize I’m so absorbed in my own world that I don’t realize what is going on around me! Ha!

      On Fri, Jul 25, 2014 at 5:28 PM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

  2. 3 Stephanie Halliday July 25, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    Love the monogram! Super adorable quilt! Did you quilt this after sewing the ruffle on?

    • 4 craftapple July 26, 2014 at 11:00 am

      Thanks, Stephanie. This quilt actually has 2 layers of batting so quilting took place before the ruffle went on. Took me a while to figure out how to do it this way so even though it is more work I got the result I wanted.

      On Fri, Jul 25, 2014 at 10:15 PM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

  3. 5 Karla July 26, 2014 at 12:31 am

    I love the monogram! But even more, I love the two dot prints. The dove color almost makes the olive dots seem like they are showing through translucently – make sense? Super pretty! Will you out out a tutorial?

    • 6 craftapple July 26, 2014 at 11:02 am

      Thanks, Karla! I’ve been thinking about a tutorial…maybe a mini tutorial. I’ve just been so short on time lately.

      On Sat, Jul 26, 2014 at 12:31 AM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

  4. 7 lisa@hilltophouse July 26, 2014 at 2:21 am

    That ruffle is AMAZING – not to mention your colour choices here – a beautiful quilt!

  5. 9 Lisa D. July 28, 2014 at 10:52 am

    What a beautiful blanket! I love the ruffle and the fabrics!

  6. 10 Donna S. July 31, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    Adorable! I always love monogramming for babies!!


  1. 1 Dotty Dress | Craft Apple Trackback on August 4, 2014 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers