Dotty Dress

Love this dot fabric by Heather Bailey!  She is quite possibly my most favoritest fabric designer.

dotty dress 3

I used it for a baby quilt recently, but today I bring it to you on a dress, paired with another Heather Bailey print.

dotty dress

A simple A Line dress – no sleeves, of course, because I’m scared of sleeves.

dotty dress 2

 

This is McCalls 8108, which is apparently now discontinued.  I narrowed it down the center, fully lined it and added a bottom border, then ran around in a field with a bouquet of flowers like a young child.

Fabric:

Heather Bailey True Colors Mod Dots in Dove.
Heather Bailey True Colors Pop Blossom in Tourquoise

4 Responses to “Dotty Dress”


  1. 1 peppermintpenguin August 4, 2014 at 11:51 am

    you look fab. and ridiculous. which is ridiculously fab. we need more of that in the world.

    sleeves are not that scary. getting the armscye to fit well is scary, but actually sewin them in is no worse than easing on a waistband and a LOT easier than Drunkards Path blocks.

    • 2 craftapple August 4, 2014 at 1:21 pm

      Thank you! You are so sweet. All my serious pictures looked terrible. I’m definitely more comfortable with ridiculous!

      Aaaaand now I’m more scared of sleeves!

      On Mon, Aug 4, 2014 at 11:51 AM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

  2. 3 coastalmom August 5, 2014 at 11:16 am

    I love your blog! I just happened to come in through the backdoor and have loved wandering through it! You are very talented!
    You remind me a lot of my daughter! I thought I’d send you her blog. Not really sure why… but I’m sure you would be friends if you ran into each other at an artshow or something! ;)

    http://gideonandbrisby.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/you-i/

  3. 4 makeitsnappy August 11, 2014 at 7:42 am

    Love it! Great combo, and it looks terrific on you!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 10, 11, and 12), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2014 Craft Apple Creations

Archives

CraftApple Patterns Flickr Group

drawing case schoolhouse

drawing case trees

drawing case dresses

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 441 other followers