Little Fuzzy Pink Felted Purse

This is my second knitting project ever and it was REALLY fun. I used up a whole ball – no more and no less – of Rowan Big Wool – I didn’t even waste an inch of it. It was a nervous time stitching up the sides of the purse, not knowing if I’d have enough yarn, but there was just enough so I didn’t have to go brave the icy roads to go get another ball.

                     felted-purse-after.jpg

The boys were on their step stools looking into the washing machine as the purse went around and around in the hot water for 10 minutes. When that was over, it still didn’t look as felted as I wanted, and it had hardly shrunk at all. So I drained the water (which had cooled a bit) and let it run for another 10 minutes. OOPS – big mistake, ‘cuz after one reading of Go Dogs, Go and 3 naptime kisses (one for each little guy), the purse had shrunk considerably, and is now too small for my wallet! It felted beautifully, though, and I’m already started on another one! Here’s a before picture – at 10″ x 6 1/2″ with 12″ long straps.

               felted-purse-before.jpg

I think I’ll name this purse Rosie. Rosie is now 8″ x 6″ with (how is this possible) 12″ long straps. Why didn’t the straps shrink?

Yeah, me and Rosie are going shopping. Or, maybe I’ll sell Rosie at the craft show next month.

4 Responses to “Little Fuzzy Pink Felted Purse”


  1. 1 kimberly February 19, 2006 at 12:17 am

    Rosie is fab!! You are a born knitter!! Good thing you’ve found your second calling.

  2. 3 Lizzie February 19, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    So good to see your blog again! Your crafting skills continue to amaze me!!!

  3. 4 Eve December 27, 2008 at 11:05 am

    hey,

    you have a very INTERESTING blog!
    I just love all the handmade items you’ve made.
    They are very nice and beautiful.
    You’re talented!
    *grins*
    Keep it up!

    Cheers,
    Eve from Malaysia


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives