AB Week Post #4: The Saga of a Sunbloom Tote

sunbloom-tote.jpg

I made this Sunbloom tote a couple of months ago and it quickly became my favorite. I took it everywhere – even to the Dr’s office. Now everyone knows when you go to your Dr, you have to wait and wait, so I came prepared with my own favorite magazines tucked into my favorite bag so that I wouldn’t have to touch the magazines that were just read by the coughing, sneezing patients waiting with me. (I am VERY germ-phobic, can you tell?) Well after a full hour, they finally called me. I walked over to the scale and looked for a place to set my purse. There was no chair, no hook, no nothing – just a germy nurse whose hands were occupied. I very carefully tried to balance my purse on the floor, forgetting that magazines don’t stand on their ends. Needless to say, it fell over. I was appalled as I watched it fall into a nasty-looking trash can. It had some very dirty stains on the side (blood? some other red/brown stuff that I don’t even want to think about?) I carried the tote with one finger all the way home and decided that even though it was decorator fabric, I really should wash it. Surprisingly, it washed pretty well, but it did lose some of it’s umph. It has now become my knitting bag, and serves its purpose very well. I’m knitting another purse with one string of wool (dark gray) and one string of an acrylic blend(pink) . When I’m done, I’ll felt it and see what happens! Do you call them “strings” or “strands”? Oh and if it looks like I’m working on a project that is doomed for failure, please feel free to tell me. I really don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to knitting!

3 Responses to “AB Week Post #4: The Saga of a Sunbloom Tote”


  1. 1 beki February 24, 2006 at 1:30 pm

    Well, you already know that I love that tote out of the sunbloom fabric. That pink one you’re working on is beautiful! I love the fabrics you’re using. I have some AB fabric on order, but I don’t think I bought those colors. I can’t wait to see it finished.

  2. 2 kimberly February 25, 2006 at 12:37 am

    Oh I’m almost as germphobic as you! How nice to see someone else with this problem. The first thing I do when I come through the door is wash all those yuk germs off my hands! Too funny. I usually don’t talk about it-people think it’s strange. :)Hey, I live in a big huge city with tons of people all over the place. Now you know. 😉
    I love that green purse!!! The pink one is so pretty.
    Don’t worry about your knitting-we all started somewhere! Have confidence in yourself-you certainly have talent.

  3. 3 Anonymous February 26, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    I absolutely love the sunbloom tote! I bought a purse once that had instructions for washing and keeping the colors bold. You add some vinegar to the wash cycle, not sure of the quantity but I will try to find the instructions. Keep up the fabulous purses! Lizzie


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives