Sew Linda, Sew!

We just watched Run Lola, Run the other night – it’s a German movie (with subtitles, of course). I wasn’t intending to watch it ‘cuz I wanted to sew, but I eventually got sucked in and sat watching while my sewing machine sat idle. Lola spends half the movie running and running and running. That’s how I feel now. The craft show is 4 days away, and while I feel like I’ve been pretty diligent in getting things done, there is always more I could do. While a movie titled Sew Linda, Sew might be just as intense, I’m guessing no one would want to watch me hunched over my sewing machine while the needle pounds away.

Here’s what I want to get done over then next few days:

1. Make something out of this fabric combo (sorry for not ironing it!)                       

bicycle-fabric.jpg

2. Make something out of this fabric combo:                        

kiwi-fabric.jpg

Any suggestions?

3. print labels for purses/quilts, etc.
4. attach labels and prices to everything
5. finalize the booth floorplan with my craft show partner, Cindy.

And can you stand just one more diaper bag? One of the reasons for this blog is to keep a record of what I’ve made so here goes. This one was sewn yesterday while I was feeling sick, sick, sick and all I could do was sleep, sew, and sleep some more.  I’m calling this one Victorian Rose. This fabric is beautiful – by Kate Greenaway.                    

victorian-diaper-bag.jpg

Here’s one more purse – I’ve been trying to play around with different shapes and using up bits of fabric.                

amy-basket-bag.jpg

8 Responses to “Sew Linda, Sew!”


  1. 1 adrienne February 28, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    I hope you feel better soon Lindiepindie!! I love the diaper bags you’ve been making! The pink purse is very cute, I like the shape of it a lot.

    Let me know where the craft fair will be! I have a conference this Saturday, but Suday I could make it!

  2. 2 the painted pear March 1, 2006 at 11:29 am

    Oh, your bags are stunning. Love the idea of the stiff handles, and the shape of the pink one is great, reminds me of spring and easter baskets…?
    I love, love the bicycle fabric at the top. How do you decide what to do with all the beautiful fabric? I would be afraid of “wasting” it…I dunno, I have wierd hangups and obviously alot of unused fabric!
    Kate Greenaway is an illustrator. I had books of her when I was little. I believe she is dead, her illustrations where mainly of children, girls, in old fashion clothing…I like the fabric and the bag!

  3. 3 kimberly March 1, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    Oh gorgeous!! I love your bags. Alphabets of any kind intrigue me to no end. I especially love those Dänish cross stitch samplers that have pictures around the edges.
    So you’re watching German movies now? Run Lola Run was a great movie. Good choice. 🙂
    Keep up the good work-you’re going to make millions. 😉

  4. 4 Anonymous March 12, 2006 at 4:04 pm

    I like the interesting shapes you’re trying. The pink one is beautiful and it is very resourceful of you to use the scraps. I feel bad that I purchased your round bag after all the work you put into it. I bet part of you would like to keep your bags after you tackle the challenge. Lizzie

  5. 5 LInda Redden January 10, 2007 at 11:43 am

    I would like to find some of the Kate Greenaway fabrics by Lecien that you used in your “alphabet bag”.. Can you tell me where you found it? Thanks. Love your site.

  6. 6 diana miller March 14, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I am looking for the alphabet fabric by Kate Greenway also. Anyone know where I can buy it. thanks! Diana Miller
    702 301 3916

  7. 7 Cindy March 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    You could make some cute pouches with those fabrics. I love the bikes. My girls would love a little zipper pouch made from that.

  8. 8 LisaBellaBags April 2, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    I have just discovered your blog and love it! I am a mother of three busy children (5,2,1). I have been sewing and quilting since I was a child. Recently I starting making bags. It gives an even better high than quilting! I agree completely with your take on having an apple/craft a day. I have found that sewing is my therapy that keeps me sane. All this to say I enjoyed your blog. Thanks for the smiles. (Of course the bags are beautiful, too.)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives