Country Tote and Sewing Machines

***If you’re sick of looking at bags, please skip down to the next paragraph.***

Okay, I am DONE sewing for a few days. The craft show is tomorrow and I’ll be there to set up bright and early at 6:30 am. This tote is made out of fabric that is already pieced – from Moda for a whopping $12.50 a yard. Boy, I need to start getting this stuff wholesale! If this one doesn’t sell, I’m keeping it. I don’t consider myself much of a country gal, but I sure do like this look.

                   country-tote.jpg
On a different note, now that I have some more time, I’m going to be in the market for a new sewing machine. I don’t want to break the bank, but I want one that will last me a good long time. My current machine is a Kenmore (it was a gift – probably around $150), but while it is a good machine, it doesn’t do thick layers well. So what do you ladies sew with? And how do you like your machines? My mom-in-law has a Pfaff, and after 30 years it still sews fabulously, but I think they’ve been bought out. I don’t think I want an embroidery machine, but a computerized one would be nice. I don’t even really know what I’m talking about. Is Viking all it’s cracked up to be? What about Janome? I’ve heard Bernina makes nice machines, but that if you ever buy any extra presser feet or accessories, they are VERY expensive. Any thoughts?

7 Responses to “Country Tote and Sewing Machines”


  1. 1 the painted pear March 3, 2006 at 12:04 pm

    I agree, if it doesn’t sell it is a keeper, at that $$$. But it will sell, you’ll see.

    I am not a very seasoned sewer, but my husband bought me a used Husqvarna, about 2 years ago. It has buttons for different embroidery patterns. I don’t tend to use, but overall the machine is very easy to use, easy to thread, you can wind a new bobbin without dethreading…I would highly recommend. I do not know the cost of replacing pressure feet, but I was told that a quilting foot would be around $60. Bernina is backed by Martha Stewart, so I suppose that is good machine! he he

    Thanks for the link to Kate Greenaway. So victorian and dainty. I loved the illos as a child, and the book I remember having was Under The Window. Hope you find more fabric of hers!!!

    Have fun this weekend!

  2. 2 beki March 3, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    I’ve always heard that Bernina’s are very good, but they’re pretty pricy. I’d like to own one one day. I sew on a cheapy machine, but it has served me well. I think I lucked up when I bought it. You might want to look on Pattern Review – they have a sewing machine section where members rate sewing machines.

    That tote is really pretty!

  3. 3 rebecca March 3, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    i saw some of that very fabric in a quilt shop today — very pretty. i got a Viking several months back (Platinum 770). it is a computerized model but is not an embroidery machine. i just felt i wouldn’t use any embroidery features. i absolutely love it but it wasn’t cheap (around $1800). this should be at LEAST a 20 year machine for me, so i feel it was worth it. the Viking feet aren’t super cheap, but i believe the Bernina feet are the most expensive.

  4. 4 kimberly March 4, 2006 at 12:44 am

    Oh boy, I bought my machine last year when my Singer died one day. I went through the same thing-what to do now. I bought a Pfaff and I love him. I have a store right around the corner where the owner repairs the machines himself, so if I have a problem I don’t have to go far-I’m no good without my machine and I couldn’t bare to part with him for repairs. Good luck and email me if you want to know more!

  5. 5 RANDI March 5, 2006 at 9:44 pm

    I love the bags you have made–all of them have great fabric combinations!

    I have been making purses like crazy too, my next one will be a diaper bag. I am going to try selling them on the internet because we don’t live in an area with good craft shows. I guess if they don’t sell I will be giving purses to everyone I know for their birthdays!

    Just curious, how to you print labels for your bags?

    I love you blog, by the way, and i will be visiting again!

  6. 6 Anonymous March 12, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    Glad you got to keep your favorite! After all your work, it’s nice you get to enjoy using it. Loved shopping yesterday while you put it to good use. Liz–>

  7. 7 Polly August 19, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    i like the pattern, nice combination of color and i just love it..


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives