3 Blind Sheep

          sheep-quilt.jpg

This little baby quilt was made for a baby shower last month and the little guy was just born over the weekend – a 9-pounder! Maybe I should have made a larger quilt? Hee hee. The plan was simple, really, but for some reason this quilt took me a bit longer than normal. I fused the sheep, then appliqued around each one. My machine kept skipping stitches because for the thick iron-on adhesive (which drove me nuts). Is it just my machine, or does this happen to everyone?

               sheep2.jpg

Below is some detail. I got the sheep idea from here. But let me just say, I think my sheep are WAY cuter, hee hee, and let me point out that the other quilt is priced in the hundreds. Unfortunately, due to my inability to sew anything by hand, the sheep have no EYES! Ha ha! I guess the eyes alone would be worth at least a hundred bucks. Poor blind sheep. Ah – I really must learn to embroider one of these days, but my latest new hobby, knitting, is taking up way too much time…

And here’s one of the gift bag.

                 sheep.jpg

15 Responses to “3 Blind Sheep”


  1. 1 cindy March 7, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    The possibilities with you are endless. You do such amazing work! Keep it going sista’.

  2. 2 rebecca March 7, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    so cute!! i think your version is worth hundreds$$$ too. i like the sheep with no eyes — lets your imagination decide their expression. sometimes too much detail makes them look a little creepy.

  3. 3 Sandrine March 8, 2006 at 3:46 am

    You’re amazing ! I’m so in love with your works ! And you’re right yours are the cuttest !! Smooches

  4. 4 kimberly March 8, 2006 at 7:08 am

    That is the most adorable quilt! Your sheep are so much cuter than the other ones and I love the fact that they don’t have eyes. You have such talent!!! That gift bag is perfect. I really like the whole idea.

  5. 5 beki March 8, 2006 at 8:06 am

    That is so cute! I’m in love with the colors. And the gift bag? You are too much.

    Looking at your quilt, I see that I should have used bigger squares on mine. Next time I’ll remember that.

  6. 6 RANDI March 8, 2006 at 9:01 am

    Cute! I love the adorable sheep even if they have no eyes!

  7. 7 the painted pear March 8, 2006 at 10:57 am

    No hee hee, your sheep, and the whole blanket is MUCH cuter. I don’t think they NEED eyes. It doesn’t detract from it at all. Love the colors. That is a very well done quilt, worth hundreds! And I love the sheep tag! I would be a very happy recipient of that gift!

  8. 8 jojo* March 8, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    That’s one of the sweetest, cutest quilts I’ve seen yet. Love the colors. Lucky recipient!!!

  9. 9 RANDI March 9, 2006 at 8:33 am

    Hi Linda,

    I wonder if I might ask your opinion on something? I have started my little shop on the web here:
    http://simplethings7.blogspot.com/

    Since we have chatted a bit about selling our wares I thought I would ask you to check out the site and the purses I have posted. Opinions please! Please be honest about what you see-I will not be offended!

    Thanks, thanks, thanks!

  10. 10 RANDI March 9, 2006 at 8:34 am

    Oh, and by the way, a tiny bit of my 1/8 yard is in one of the purses!

  11. 11 Sarah March 9, 2006 at 12:50 pm

    I love it and the gift bag to match! Fantastic!

  12. 12 Mirre March 9, 2006 at 4:37 pm

    That is such a beautiful quilt… what a lovely gift for a baby!

  13. 13 Anonymous March 12, 2006 at 3:49 pm

    If I’m thinking correctly, I just met the new owner of that incredible quilt this afternoon! You continue to amaze me with your masterpieces! Lizzie

  14. 14 ohelene March 17, 2006 at 7:36 am

    The sheep doesn need eyes – you can just pretend they have long fur covering their eyes! Beautiful quilt!!

  15. 15 Michelle Halliday February 9, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    Your quilt is lovely, did you use lightweight fusible webbing as its made for machining through


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives