Swimming Takes Coordination

I finally decided that it was time the boys learned how to swim. I signed them up for swimming lessons last month, and knowing that the water temperature in the indoor pool was a bit cool, I got us all spring wet suits. I swim with my 2-year old in a mom and me class while the older boys are in the toddler class together. We all have so much fun and the boys love their teachers. The problem is that swimming takes a lot of coordination. Not motor coordination, but mental coordination. I have to pack 4 towels, snacks, water, underwear for all, and a bunch more stuff that I can’t even remember right now. It takes us 30 minutes to change out of our suits, go potty, get dried, dressed and to the car. It is such a haried 30 minutes, where the boys are walking around touching everything in sight (faucets, hand dryers, lockers), NOT putting their clothes on like I’ve asked them to, then sitting with their bare bottoms on the fungus-ridden floor to put their pants on. I am always stressed, trying to stuff 4 wet towels and wet suits into the duffle bag, then I feel rushed to get dinner going when we get home. On the plus side, everyone goes to bed early and sleeps so well. I kept thinking that after this 4-week session was over, I’d have some relief, but on the last day of the session, I found myself walking up to the front desk and signing up for another session. Am I crazy? Yes, but if you saw the smiles on their faces, you’d want to give these little guys another chance to learn how to swim, too, wouldn’t you? So far, everyone has learned to dip their heads in the water, but there’s no independent swimming going on yet. Who knew 4 weeks wasn’t long enough?

9 Responses to “Swimming Takes Coordination”


  1. 1 the painted pear March 9, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    I hear you! I have the same exact story. EXACT. Except I have 2 girls and 1 boy. But the germs, the fungus, the towels and suits.

    Even when I was just bringing the girls for their lesson, changing, peeing, then watching them, then changing, peeing, my last glance in the mirror of the dressing room my face looked like a lobster. It would be like a sauna in the pool area, and my nerves and frustration of keeping it all in check…it is a ton of work.

    But we are gluttens(sp?) for punishment. We always sign em up again!
    Funny how I feel like this crazy, stressed mom, all the other moms look so calm and with it. Maybe they just hide it better than I!!??!!

  2. 2 beki March 9, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    I can only imagine! My little ones seem to be attracted to the dirtiest surfaces, so they’d be all over the fungus covered floor too.

    Your guys are so precious!

  3. 3 jojo* March 9, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    You’re a brave, brave woman–for bringing all your kids to the pool AND for appearing in public in a swimsuit!!! HA. I’m sure the boys love it…which makes it all worth it. And ewwww. Grossing out at the fungus.

  4. 4 RANDI March 9, 2006 at 4:29 pm

    They are so cute! They definitely have that “I keep my mom on her toes” look on their faces! Seriously, where do you find the time to be so crafty?

    Thank you so much for the great feedback on my endevour. I think I am going to put it off until next Friday because I am rushing it by trying to post it tomorrow. One more week makes me feel a little less nervous. I do need better pics and I need to have my daughter make a couple of changes on the site (since I don’t really know what I am doing with that stuff!) For some reason on the brown/pink fabric I CANNOT get the pick to show up on the computer–i seriously took a pic of it about 20 times! Oh well, maybe outside in the sun will help???

  5. 5 kimberly March 12, 2006 at 7:17 am

    Oh my, we are crazy as moms, aren’t we? They look so cute in their suits, I know why you signed them up again. What we endure for the love of our kids.
    I have a bit of a headache just thinking about it. 😉

  6. 6 Anonymous March 12, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    Now that is a priceless photo of your little men! I predict you have at least one ‘swimmer’ by the end of this session. All this hard work pays off when your sitting by the pool with a book while your children are swimming like little fish. Can you even imagine such a thing? Lizzie

  7. 7 adrienne March 13, 2006 at 11:29 am

    Awwwwww…they are so handsome!!!! You are a verrrry good mama, indeed. I get worn out just from your after swimming descriptions. Josh starts swimming on April first, only on Saturdays, and Dad and I will trade off.

    I really love that picture!

  8. 8 ohelene March 17, 2006 at 7:32 am

    What don’t we mums do for our children. But we get paid as well – when looking at their smily faces!


  1. 1 zpgatyttq Trackback on October 3, 2006 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives