Baby Blankets

This weekend I was experimenting with different fabrics to make baby blankets. I had one success and one failure, but it was overall a good experience.

This is how I used to make baby blankets – 2 layers of flannel with a decorative stitch edge:

                     flannel-blankets.jpg

While I still like this blanket and it’s soooo practical, look what happens when I change out one layer of flannel to chenille:

                    pink-toille-blanket.jpg

It has such a luxurious feel, and it’s so much thicker. And this pink toile & pink chenille combo is fun, fun, fun! Okay, I must admit – I didn’t come up with this idea myself – I got it from my friend Cindy’s creations. She has such a talent for pairing fabrics.

7 Responses to “Baby Blankets”


  1. 1 RANDI March 13, 2006 at 8:26 am

    You can always count on encouragement from little boys, eh? HA HA HA!

    Great idea for baby blankets!

  2. 2 kimberly March 13, 2006 at 9:07 am

    Oh how I just love that pink toile!! That makes a gorgeous baby blanket. I think the green is fun.

  3. 3 the painted pear March 13, 2006 at 9:10 am

    I wouldn’t say fungussy rug, but look at the positive, how much a baby is going to love cuddling up in that soft texture!
    And the pink toile is gorgeous. You can’t get any more feminine than that. Make it a queen and it could top my bed!

  4. 4 Adrienne March 13, 2006 at 11:26 am

    Lindipindie, I think my Josh would love to feel all that fuzzy green in his mouth!!!🙂 I can just see him now.

    The pink toile is beautifulllllllllll!!!!!

  5. 5 beki March 14, 2006 at 7:53 am

    That pink toile is so pretty and girly. I’ve been using flannel and cotton for my blankets, but then at the moment I’m only thinking about light weight summer blankets. I plan to use chenille or fleece for one of the layers for winter ones.

  6. 6 colorfool March 14, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    The chenille/toile blanket is so sweet. I love it!

  7. 7 Cheri (I love baby blankets as well) May 27, 2007 at 11:14 am

    I just came across this post on your blog as well. I just saw the Chenille one. I love this baby blanket. My daughter in law just had a baby last year. Our first grandchild. I would have loved to have made her a nice blanket like this. Very nice!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives