Barnyard Bag

 When I make a purse, especially if I’m trying to sell it, I like to give it a name. Like, The Country Tote, for instance, or the Dotty Dot Bag. It’s a nice way for someone to say, “Oh could you make the Amy Purse using the Kimono Bag fabric?”

Well, I now have a new bag. This is the 2nd purse that I knit, all garter stitch, of course, ‘cuz I haven’t gotten the hang of purling yet. I used one strand of Dark Grey Paton’s Classic Wool Merino and one strand of Pink Paton’s Divine Acrylic blend and knit up the whole thing. Then I attached the straps and threw it in the hot washing machine to felt it. The kiddos were entertained for a good 20 minutes by watching it agitate – until one little guy somehow tried to touch the water with his toes, got his sock wet, and got in trouble…but that’s another story.

          watching-sherpa-felting.jpg

So even though this bag is for me, it has a name – the Barnyard Bag. “Why?”, you ask? Because as it was going around and around in the machine, there was a distinct barnyard smell in my laundry room. Is this normal? I thought wool was treated to not do this. My last wool bag did not smell like this. Is it because this was cheaper wool? It reminded me of the cheap sweater that I bought in college – made in a Latin American country out of llama’s wool, I think. I loved that sweater until it got rained on while I was walking to class and I smelled like a barnyard. Pew! That was embarrasing. So here’s the Barnyard Bag. It really didn’t shrink much.

                         sherpa-bag.jpg
Pre-felting dimensions: 10″ x 16″ with 24″ straps
Post-felting dimensions: 9″ x 15″ with (get this) 31″ straps.

Did I do something wrong? Why did my straps GROW instead of shrink? *Sigh* Maybe with my 40% off JoAnn’s coupon, I’ll break down and buy me a Felted Knits book, instead of trying to teach myself something that I know nothing about.

5 Responses to “Barnyard Bag”


  1. 1 the painted pear March 15, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    I think the bag looks great! I really like the shape. That can be used for lots of things, “throw all” bag, knitting bag, travelling bag.

    But the straps are a strange thing. did you put the your knitted bag in another bag, like I use a zippered pillow case, in the washing machine? It helps to keep the little fuzzies from ruining your machine, but maybe it has another purpose.

    I can imagine it could smell. Wool is hair, from a sheep or llama. But does it still smell? did you use any soap? I use a specific wool washing softener/conditioner kind of soap. Just a capful, but you can use woolite, or probably even dreft. Just a dribble.

    All in all, I think the bag looks great, and it doesn’t LOOK like you don’t know what you are doing!

  2. 2 the painted pear March 15, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    I just reread what yarn you used and maybe, just maybe, cause I am not an expert, but maybe it is because of the pink acrylic yarn. the rest of the bag felted though, but not alot. Losing an inch doesn’t seem too much to me.
    I am really not being too much help here, am I!

  3. 3 Anonymous March 15, 2006 at 8:18 pm

    I think it looks great, long straps and all. Once it dried, did it still smell like a barnyard?

  4. 4 kimberly March 16, 2006 at 1:43 am

    I love your bag-what a great size. I know very little about felting so I can’t help you here.

  5. 5 lizzie March 16, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    That is so weird that the straps grew!! I love seeing the picture of the boys watching the wash cycle. The purse looks great….yet another talent.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives