Swim Bags that Mommy Made

 I like to make purses for myself or make baby blankets or quilts for babies. I don’t do a whole lot of sewing for my boys. They are out of the baby stage and they shouldn’t really be carrying purses, so I’m really at a loss of how to sew or knit for them. I honestly don’t trust the youngest 2 with a scarf since everything long ends up acting like a tourniquet on one limb or another.

One of my first attempts to sew them something was this pathetic sock monkey. The machine sewing part wasn’t so hard. It was the needle and thread stuff that got me. I obviously didn’t secure the mouth on properly because they got the fuzz out rather quickly. The thread holding his neck in didn’t last either. I thought I got the nostrils pretty symmetrical, but even though I went for the easiest eyes possible, I never could get the second one to look like the first, so I gave up and gave the boys a 1-eyed sock monkey. His name is PJ, by the way, and my oldest is convinced that he his nostrils are actually his eyes, and his eye is an eyebrow. Cradled in PJ’s arms is another creation I made for my boys – the purple beauty whose name is Sock Worm. They can play and play with Sock Worm – why, I’m not sure.

                     pathetic-sock-monkey.jpg
I got all inspired after another stressful post-swim-lesson time. I came home and decided to make each kiddo a drawstring swim bag so they could carry their own stuff. I’ve always wanted to say I “whipped up” something, but even with a project as simple as this, when you combine a slow sewer with a project times 3 and countless interruptions by the boys wanting to see their bag, it really took longer than I hoped. They love their bags, though, and although they look like they are completely comfortable in their pose (they’re looking at the mail truck), they had a little trouble actually walking with them. Fun, fun, though. It made my duffle bag a LOT lighter and we actually got dressed in 15 minutes after lessons today.

       swim-bags.jpg

12 Responses to “Swim Bags that Mommy Made”


  1. 1 beki March 17, 2006 at 7:58 am

    Oh my goodness, you had me laughing at that sock monkey and sock worm – at least they’re loved.

    Your boys look so cute with their own bags, I love that picture!

  2. 2 RANDI March 17, 2006 at 8:44 am

    Your monkey looks like he is saying something! Too cute!

    i love the picture of your little guys with their bags! So so adorable!

  3. 3 the painted pear March 17, 2006 at 9:40 am

    That sock monkey makes me happy! He looks so happy. And his arms, so long, and hugging a stuffed sock, I mean worm.
    I think you did a great job on those bags! Your boys look so grownup, maybe it is the suits or way they have them slung over their shoulder.They should be in an ad for those bags, in a fancy catalogue.

  4. 4 capello March 17, 2006 at 5:26 pm

    Your boys look adorable with their bags.

    And I’ve learned, that once you bring a child into the home nothing is ever easy. Nothing.

  5. 5 kimberly March 17, 2006 at 11:26 pm

    Oh that picture is so cute!! Great job! Your one-eyebrow monkey is a hoot. I love him and I bet your boys do too. I have the same problem with my son-I never know what to make him. Alida get tons of stuff but for boys its harder.

  6. 6 Sandrine March 18, 2006 at 6:49 am

    You’re monkey is too funny I love his eye !!! and his mouth !! And the picture of your 3 boys is too cute too !! Smooches

  7. 7 lizzie March 18, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    What a cute picture and what a precious time with the boys. I bet you will remember fondly the swim lessons(and the bags)for many years. The picture is a treasure and will be priceless to look at when they are grown men!

  8. 8 krista March 22, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Oh my god. That picture is priceless. They are all lined up like ducks! So so so cute.

  9. 9 Mumzie March 25, 2006 at 10:34 am

    Neat that you found a way to lighten up your swim bag! The boys are so cute, each with his own bag.
    Good job, little Mama! It is hard to find something to make for boys. Vests are a possibility–and hats. Then there’s always PJ’s!

  10. 10 weirdbunny April 25, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    Those little ones are so cute!

  11. 11 Chris November 16, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I LOVE PJ and Sock the Worm… That made my WHOLE day!!! Thank you.


  1. 1 Happy Mother’s Day! « Craft Apple Trackback on October 31, 2006 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives