Mailbox surprises and ?

Look what the mailman brought! This is from Lolly over at the Giving Flower – such a talented knitter that I can only dream about being as good as. Some sock yarn, double-pointed needles, and stitch markers! Lovely!

 trekking.jpg       stitch-markers.jpg
The stitch markers are for sale through her store. They look so yummy, and I’m thrilled to have some apples (and a strawberry, chocolate chip, hotdog, and hamburger) for the craft apple girl! Thanks Kimberly!

On the sewing front, I got 3 projects sewn this weekend: a purple chenille and gingham blanket,

                   purple-chenille.jpg

a blue chenille blanket with classic Pooh, and since there was a bit of each left over, a coordinating burp cloth,

                  blue-chenille.jpg

and another project that I can’t post until I send it off to the receiver (who reads this blog).  Do I hear jaws dropping, eyes widening, and gasps of, “Could it be ME?” The answer is, “Yes, it could be you!”

Chenille seems to be sold in wider bolts than 44″ and I always have some left over. Does anyone have any suggestions of what to do with leftover small pieces of chenille? I always have pieces that aren’t big enough for a blanket, but nice big pieces, nonetheless.

9 Responses to “Mailbox surprises and ?”


  1. 1 kimberly March 21, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    I hope you like the pink yarn. I thought you needed a bit of pink. Kind of like you need another bag. 😉 Sock yarn is so German. The apples are an increase/decrease chain.🙂

  2. 2 capello March 21, 2006 at 2:50 pm

    You can save the chenille piece and make a scrappy blanket someday. Or little matching pillows. Or scrappy pillows. Or any other project with the word “scrappy” in it.

  3. 3 jojo* March 21, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    Lucky you. Love all the stuff Kimberly sent you. I have yet to try sock yarn.

    P.S. Could it be ME?????? Mu ha ha.

  4. 4 the painted pear March 22, 2006 at 7:14 am

    How lucky are you! Love, love the stitch markers. It makes it so much more enticing to knit. Not that knitting is not enticing, but when those little goodies are dangling off the needles…

    Have you made a pair of socks? I wear mine ALL the time. I have two pair that I knit for myself and many more than that I made for gifts. And of course, my mom knit me my first pair. It was a gift, with the pattern and lots of sock yarn too! They do take me a long time, but they are so worth it! And the washable wool holds up great in the laundry. I don’t have any pink ones though…

  5. 5 lizzie March 22, 2006 at 8:34 am

    I love how the pooh blanket and burp cloth turned out! Thank you!!! I can’t imagine getting excited about sock yarn and stitch markers. I’m the black sheep of your blog friends. Oh….to be crafty and talented as you are!!!

  6. 6 RANDI March 22, 2006 at 9:27 am

    I love the yarn and the blankies–all of it so cozy!

  7. 7 mommy to four j's March 22, 2006 at 10:20 am

    The blankets look so soft and comfortable.You are so talented all of your stuff looks so beautiful sure to make any mommy excited about there new arrival.

  8. 8 Sarah March 23, 2006 at 7:34 am

    Wow, you have been whipping them up! They look so cozy and good luck with the socks. I’ll be interested to know how hard they are to knit!
    Love the boys swimming bags by the way.

  9. 9 Cheri April 15, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I use my leftover small pieces of chenille to make fabric blocks for babies. I make 3 stackable sizes, tie them up tall with pretty ribbon and it’s all set to go to a new baby. Lot’s of them to look at on etsy. Hope this helps.

    -Cheri


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives