? revealed

This weekend, I finished up a purse in some black french country fabric with a yellow floral for the liner – it turned out really well, and I gave it to Lizzie at church this morning, just to realize that I FORGOT to take a picture of it!!! It was fun working with fabric that I don’t normally work with, and you’ll just have to take my word that it was wildly cute.

The mystery project from last week was (drumroll please, and if your name is Beki, stop reading now if you haven’t gotten your package) …

A diaper bag! I made this one out of Amy Butler’s Sunbloom fabric and lined it with canvas. This project would have been completed much earlier had a little guy not gotten a hold of Mommy’s scissors and cut at the fabric mid-way through the process. Grrrrr. Mommy was not happy. It took some creativity to salvage some fabric.

                     sunbloom-diaper-bag.jpg

The bag looks a bit lopsided in the picture, but it really IS symmetrical! I promise! The cell phone in my current tote bag has fallen out of it’s cell pocket at the most inopportune times (like, when I’m trying to leave the check out lane and my little guy throws his shoe on the floor and I lean over to pick it up and out falls my cell phone…more grrrr), so I added a velcro strap to this one to keep it in it’s place.

                    cell-pocket.jpg
This is one of the first times I’ve sewn for somebody who knows how to sew and I was NERVOUS! I kept wondering if she’d notice such and such an imperfection, or if she’d know she could do this or that better. This is for a almost due Beki over at Artsy-Craftsy Babe. Enjoy Beki – I hope you like it! Making this was a fun adventure!

12 Responses to “? revealed”


  1. 1 RANDI March 26, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    Cute! Great fabric and I am glad you could salvage it!

  2. 2 the painted pear March 27, 2006 at 7:49 am

    I can’t imagine she would be unhappy with it, even though she is a sewer, she will just be delighted someone was thinking of her! And I love the velcro strap for the cell phone…perfection.

    You know, I love to cook, that is when I want to cook. But the food always tastes good when someone cooks for me!!!

    Anyway, did you throw any lemons at the munchkin with scissors? he he. That is a beautiful bag, and even more beautiful knowing the hurdles.

  3. 3 Sandrine March 27, 2006 at 11:50 am

    Oh my god !!! I’m jealous !! This bag is toooo cute ! I love this fabric !! I want the same :o) !! Big smooches !

  4. 5 colorfool March 27, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    She will love it! I do!
    Really, great fabric and great design. Love the velcro cell pocket. It is beautiful!

  5. 6 beki March 27, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    I LOVELOVELOVE it!!! Thank you so much😉

  6. 7 Mirre March 28, 2006 at 3:49 am

    Hi, I just came over from Beki’s blog where I saw your bag🙂
    The bag is absolutely lovely and so practical!

  7. 8 Amanda8 March 28, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Came over from Beki’s blog to see your bags! I love them all – and the one you made for her is so so cute!

  8. 9 ohelene March 28, 2006 at 12:42 pm

    That bag looks just wonderful. I guess the mishap with the scissors just made it better?

  9. 10 capello March 28, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    So pretty!

    Once I realize how to make a bag without spending 12 hours seam ripping, I’m totally gonna try to make one similiar to that.

  10. 11 Cathy March 29, 2006 at 8:12 am

    It is a lovely bag. I saw it on Beki’s site yesterday and I have been thinking about it every since! You did a great job.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives