What knitting has taught me about myself.

I am a beginning knitter and have learned a few things about myself in the last couple of months since I bought my first “How to Knit” Kit.

#1: I must learn everything the hard way. When every knitting book I read says to knit a swatch to determine the gauge, why don’t I believe them? This is my first hat that I knit on straight needles and joined together. My little guy loves it and when I put a hat on him that actually fits now, he says, “It’s too tight, Mom.”

                     big-hat.jpg

 #2: I’m old. Somewhere between when I stopped doing gymnastics and lifting weights and started having children, my wrist strength was shot. I bought a Knifty Knitter and made 2 hats and started having all kinds of ulnar nerve pain that wouldn’t go away until I quit.
               knifty-knitter.jpg

I know, I know, I feel like I’m cheating when I “knit” this way but I’ll be giving this set of looms away since I can’t use them. Any takers?

            hats-raking.jpg

Here’s a picture of the 3 boys raking in their hats – 2 knifty knitter hats and that big blue mushroom hat.

#3: When it comes right down to it, I am still a little preschooler at heart. When my mother-in-law, who is a fabulous knitter and seamstress visited this week, I regressed to childhood. My kids were bringing her books to read, toys to look at – doing all the things that little kids do. I was right in there with them, bringing her my felted bags, my latest knitting and sewing projects, looking for attention and affirmation. What’s wrong with me?

*Sigh*

I DO like knitting, though – I feel like there’s so much to learn and my brain is being challenged and stretched. I don’t get that same feeling from doing laundry. Thanks for all you knitters who provide me with inspiration!

9 Responses to “What knitting has taught me about myself.”


  1. 1 Anonymous March 29, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    Christine and I would take those ulnar pain driving things away for you! I made Christine a hat VERY similar to your blue “mushroom” hat!!! She loved it too! I ended up weaving a chained piece through and tying it onto her head LOL!🙂 Live and learn…knit and learn…crochet and learn…:-)

    It’s good your mother-in-law is there to help you! Hope you get some good tips. I told you about my crochet beginnings, how stressful it was to me at first, but I still loved it. I am not the best, but I enjoy it. I pretty much stick to my favorite stitch now and just do it to enjoy it.

    Laundry doesn’t stretch your brain?? 🙂

  2. 2 capello March 29, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    Nothing is wrong with you — I do that to my husband.

    Right now we are training him to give me praise.

    Must be nice to get praise without training them first.

    (hope your wrists are feeling better)

  3. 4 RANDI March 29, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    The first picture is so cute! I tried knitting and have since quit. I kept thinking that I may give myself a heart attack because my pulse rate went so high whenever I attempted something beyond a basic stitch! Best of luck to you!

  4. 5 kimberly March 30, 2006 at 3:25 am

    Oh you are just so cute!! Everytime I pick up my knitting I realize just how much I have to learn. I think that’s what makes it so wonderful-the learning never ends.
    Martin’s grandmother is a knitter and when she comes over I do the same thing with her. 🙂 Knit on, girl.

  5. 6 the painted pear March 30, 2006 at 8:42 am

    It would be a miracle, and just too far fetched if anybody that knits DIDN’T have some crazy beginner projects! And even after a few completed, decent looking projects I still make mistakes, and still have ton to learn! So you aren’t any different than anyone else! believe me.

    And yes my hands, and fingers hurt. Arthritis, and I really feel old. But think of what you accomplish, and what you are exposing your children to. That is a positive thing. Keep your projects small and simple. Your hats are awesome, and obviously your kids love them!

    gosh, i sound a tad bossy or something. was just trying to make you feel okay, and your knitting is just a good as anybody elses!

  6. 7 ohelene April 3, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    I do that to my mum too😀

  7. 8 anime May 28, 2015 at 4:19 pm

    Hey there I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all
    round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I
    have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.


  1. 1 ncmdmlizs Trackback on October 3, 2006 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives