Kimono Basket Bag

I finished this Basket Bag in Amy Butler’s Kimono fabric for my neighbor. We are going on a field trip with her this morning and I was madly trying to get it done for her. This is the last of my Kimono fabric *sniff* and I don’t think I can get anymore since it’s been discontinued.
                            kimono-basket-bag2.jpg

For the liner I used some of my purchases from Moda’s Poetic Prints line. I have a few more yards of beautiful pinks and greens from this line that are burning a hole in my fabric basket. I’ll have to make something out of it soon!

                              kimono-basket-bag.jpg

For you purse makers out there, I put fusible fleece on the liner (cut 1/2″ smaller all around) so that the pockets have more to hang on to, but when the purse is finished, it’s often bulky on the inside. Should I be making the liner a bit smaller than the exterior? Any thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks.

10 Responses to “Kimono Basket Bag”


  1. 1 Amanda8 March 31, 2006 at 12:03 pm

    I love the bag! I have no idea about the fusible fleece – I have never used it, but I want to try. I will be checking back to steal the advice others give you!

  2. 2 adrienne March 31, 2006 at 1:27 pm

    Wow! It’s really cool! I love that fabric. What kind of field trip are you going on today?

  3. 3 Cathy March 31, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    I love it! I have found that I have to “fit” the liner inside my bags… they typically end up being slightly smaller than the exterior bag. I think fleece or batting would both require smaller liners.

  4. 4 beki March 31, 2006 at 2:41 pm

    Your bag is fabulous, as always!

    My linings are usually too big as well. I think I need to start making mine a bit smaller.

  5. 5 capello March 31, 2006 at 2:47 pm

    Hey, I think your liner is the material for one of my spring pillows! Great minds, I tell ya.

    As for the fusible, maybe get the one without the fleece? That would cut down on quite of bit of the bulk.

  6. 6 the painted pear March 31, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Darn it, I want to be your neighbor!

    My neighbors give me nuttin!

    That is a great looking bag! And that is great Butler fabric!!! Love the shape!

  7. 7 RANDI April 1, 2006 at 9:14 am

    Love the bag–i wish I was your neighbor!!! I don’t know about making the lining smaller–mine seem to be OK but I also think that mine may be a bit smaller than the one you put together.

    I have a question for you: Do you use Buckram in the base of the bag? If so, what is it? I would like to get some for some rbags that I will be making but I don’t even know what to look for!

  8. 8 kimberly April 1, 2006 at 9:23 am

    Great bag-but then you knew I’d say that. My liners are too big to and I’m going to try making them smaller than the outside. I think it could work.

  9. 10 Rascallion April 8, 2006 at 1:02 am

    You make such lovely bags! Do you sell them online as well as at craft fairs? (Check out Etsy dot com if you haven’t yet!) Your bag is great, very inspiring.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives