Crafting Rut

So I didn’t have a super duper crafty weekend. I did get a few things done, but I think I’m in a crafting rut. All my purses are beginning to feel the same. I think I need to get a Japanese craft book for some inspiration. Will anyone share with me their favorites?

And, I feel like I’m at a crossroads as I decide where to go with my sewing. I’ve done a couple of craft shows with minimal success, but I enjoy sewing and selling my products. I considered buying my fabric wholesale to increase my profit, but most wholesale places expect you to buy an exorbitant amount (i.e. $750) each time – and I’m not ready for that. I can sew, but so can a lot of people. What makes me unique? I’ve gotten a couple of books that I’m reading to help me make a decision:

How to Start a Home-Based Craft Business by Kenn Oberrecht and
Handmade for Profit (Hundres of Secrets To Success in Selling Arts & Crafts) by Barbara Brabec.

Both are good reads, but both are making me feel that maybe this needs to remain just a hobby. I am, after all, a mom, and I don’t really want another job. In addition, my 4 year old will turn 5 this summer and officially start Kindergarten and since I’m homeschooling, I really should focus on finding a curriculum, reading up on different teaching theories, and all that.

                    friendly-iron.jpg

I did clean my iron this weekend. See this iron looking all sweet and innocent? Well, I have never cleaned an iron my whole life and I thought it might be a good thing to do. Look what came off of her?

                   friendly-iron-with-dirt.jpg

6 Responses to “Crafting Rut”


  1. 1 the chatty pear April 3, 2006 at 11:28 am

    wow, I have never cleaned my iron either. Jeese, guess i better! cute little arms on that thing. Wouldn’t it be nice if the arms worked and did all the ironing for us!!!

    I hope you don’t stop creating. Your bags have a clean, practical, but tasteful feel to them. Have you brought them to a fancy baby clothes store, and sell them as diaper bags? Even on consignment? I feel deja vu, have I written this before?
    Well I believe in you, but I do see homeschooling taking up alot of your time in the very near future. Why are you going that route if I may ask? You don’t have to answer, but just curious. It crossed my mind at one point, but I was afraid, and have decided to trust the local school system(which in this new town is wonderful)

  2. 2 Angela April 3, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    Your iron picture cracked me up! That looks like something from our whacky house. How DO you clean an iron?
    I sent you an email with that book you asked about. Let me know if the link didn’t work though.
    I can’t believe you homeschool 3 children. I may have to go lay down now.

  3. 3 jojo* April 3, 2006 at 4:31 pm

    Ewww. What did you use to clean that? Mine is disgusting, and I always feel lucky when I iron something and it doesn’t leave marks.

  4. 4 capello April 4, 2006 at 12:04 pm

    My iron looks clean, but I’m scared to find out how dirty it really is.

  5. 5 RANDI April 4, 2006 at 4:52 pm

    Maybe you could do something really small scale like me! I have 4 people who are having me make custom bags for them and I am having OK success with selling them. You could just post 3 or 4 and see if they sell. Or you could even just post them on your blog and say that they are for sale–you never know. I think that if you enjoy it, keep doing it. Maybe a new craft book will be just the thing that you need!

    Personally, I think the bags you make are great!

  6. 6 Cathy April 6, 2006 at 12:34 pm

    You are doing great! I sell my bags mainly as a way to support the hobby. I love to make things but it gets expensive and then you run out of people to give them to.

    And I don’t worry too much about inspiration. I buy cloth that I like, then I look at it, mull it over, play with some notions, and start sewing. Eventually, I come up with something.–>


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives