French Country and Gnomes

                         fr-country-bag.jpg 

Can you stand another purse? This one is for my friend for mother’s day. She picked out the fabric – very French Country. It was good for me to get out of the pinks and oranges for a change, although I’ve noticed that the black fabric shows every little piece of lint. I really like the contrasting interior – it’s like a nice surprise to look in there! I put in a big pocket and a cell phone pocket (by request).

             fr-country-bag-2.jpg

This little gnome blankie is for my nephew who is still in his mommy’s tummy.

                   gnome-blanket.jpg

The fleece is the softest I’ve ever felt – it’s called Cuddle Up from Micheal Miller. I could soooooo live in some PJs that was made out of this stuff. Of course, I would look a little dorky, but I’d be comfy and well, hot since summer is well on its way!

Oh yeah – I have 2 Amy Butler Messenger Bag patterns that I am happy to send to a loving home. I got a bunch of pattens wholesale and quite honestly, these aren’t selling. And in all honesty, I learned a lot by making this bag, but I wasn’t so happy with the finished product. Do you see why I’m a bad saleswoman? I’m waaaaay too honest… and generous. :o) Leave a comment if you want one! If I were to make it again, I’d use some prettier fabric and make the strap shorter since I’m a shorty.

10 Responses to “French Country and Gnomes”


  1. 1 kimberly April 5, 2006 at 2:03 am

    Oh that bag is so pretty with the contrasting yellow inside. My sister loves the french stuff that’s what I started all of this bag addiction with a year ago. That’s what my banner is-french goodness. I’ve got to get going on some bags. I’ve been drooling over your material so long now, it’s washed and ready to sew. It’s just so hard to motivate to get my machine out when I’m so tired at the moment. Even pulling out my knitting needles is a push.
    That blanket is sooo sweet! Did you see your sister’s covington bag? Of course you did-I love it. You two amaze me. I love watching what will come next.
    So you’re homeschooling? I think that’s illegal here in Germany. Although I’m a teacher, I can’t imagine having the patience to do it. Good for you!

  2. 2 Angela April 5, 2006 at 7:25 am

    The bag looks great. I do feel the same way about black. Love it, but the lint!
    The blanket looks so cuddly. Great choices for the fabrics.

  3. 3 Amanda8 April 5, 2006 at 7:45 am

    I love both of those. Very cute bag – they aren’t colors I would have ever thought of, but I really like how it looks! Hmmmm, will have to try that combination! And of course the baby blanket is adorable!

    I would love to do a trade for one of the patterns – let me know!

  4. 4 capello April 5, 2006 at 8:40 am

    You did a great job with the bag and the blanket (and garden gnomes make me swoon).

    I’d love a messenger bag pattern if you still have any around. I need all the education I can get.

  5. 5 beki April 5, 2006 at 9:20 am

    I never get tired at looking at your bags. Great job! I’m working on a project at the moment that isn’t “springy” colors, so it is an interesting change. That blanket is too cute. I’m sure the new little addition will love it (or at least Mommy will😉

  6. 6 the painted pear April 5, 2006 at 12:23 pm

    I agree with Beki, I never tire of looking at your bags. Great fabrics, love the yellow interior.

    And I don’t notice any lint!

    So you are related to Joanna! Lucky you! are you sisters or inlaws…? again I am curious, and you don’t have to respond. But holidays must be so fun with both of you around!

  7. 7 jojo* April 5, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Whooooops!!! Was I not supposed to see that? Too bad! I love it! I love the cute gnomes, and the fabric looks so soft and snuggly. THANKS!!!!🙂

    Very classy bag, too.

  8. 8 Cathy April 6, 2006 at 12:30 pm

    Nice! I love looking at your bags, keep ’em coming. The blankie is cute too, I love the gnomes.

  9. 9 adrienne April 7, 2006 at 9:52 pm

    That is a pretty bag, very french country!

    I really, really like the gnomes, they are very cute. Reminds me… I was flipping channels today and saw a young woman in tears on a talk show because she has phobia of gnomes! It was so weird!🙂

  10. 10 Rose March 31, 2007 at 2:25 am

    Hi people! Great job! Visit my sites, please:


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives