Our Favorite Park

                  bot-garden.jpg 

I love this picture. I took this a year ago when the flowers in the rose garden were in full bloom and the day was sunny. Beyond the fountain and square patch of grass is a pond where at least 50 turtles live. The boys and I often go here and sit on a blanket where we can see the turtles poke their heads up and have a picnic. We went there today. It’s one of the few free places left to go downtown. I am a novice at photoshop, but tried my hand at watercoloring this picture and messing with the lighting. I was so pleased with the final result that I had it printed up on canvas and stretched. It now sits above our piano and when the kids notice it, they ask where the turtle pond is.

       bot-garden-card.jpg

I got this postcard off of Ebay. It was a picture of the same park taken over 70 years ago. I love this kind of stuff. The note on the back reads, “Dear Don, Well are you helping to take care of that baby you have there? I suppose you are doing the washing by now. You haven’t seen anything yet until you have seen Fort Worth and Dallas… Love, J Henry” I’ve got a little square frame for this card to hang next to the canvas.
What strikes me about this (besides the fact that they made a postcard out of a picture with no actual roses in bloom – very blah) is that the baby they are talking about is now over 70 years old! Amazing. And are those some of the same trees in the background? I am not generally much of a history buff, but as I get older, I find I have a real appreciation for the past – for what happened years before in the place that I’m now standing, or how things might have been different for me had I been born 50 years earlier.

Photoshop is fun, fun, fun. I wish I were better at it, but to get good it would seriously cut into my sewing and knitting time.

5 Responses to “Our Favorite Park”


  1. 1 capello April 7, 2006 at 1:51 pm

    Oh, that would be my favorite park too, if I lived there.

    Especially the turtle aspect. Griffin has this “thing” for turtles. He jumped in a lake for the duck once. I don’t even want to think about how far he’d go for a turtle.

  2. 2 Angela April 7, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    That is one awesome park! WOW! And your photo/photoshopping is very beautiful. well done!

  3. 3 kimberly April 7, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    I love that story, especially that the baby is now 70. I love your picture of that park. We have a park around the corner that is very similar and I’ll take a picture this summer for you. But we don’t have turtles.

  4. 4 Cathy April 8, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    I wish we had a pretty park like that! And I love the old photos contrasted with the new… and the postcard message is like a time capsule.

  5. 5 the painted pear April 9, 2006 at 7:52 am

    What a beautiful place to be close too! And how neat to have that old postcard. Could it be that that long ago there wasn’t any roses yet? I dunno, just a thought


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives