Seasons of Change

Lately, I’ve been noticing how quickly, it seems that my little boys are growing up. Last week, my oldest moved into a top bunk and my youngest joined his 2 older brothers in their big boy room. This past weekend, we took the training wheels off of T’s bike and although he’s having trouble stopping by himself, he’s biking pretty well on his own! What a milestone – it makes him feel like he’s on top of the world!

t-riding-a-bike.jpg

Bike, big boy, bike!

The biggest change, though, is that my middle child no longer has chubby legs. All my babies had chubby legs, and now, J’s legs are thinning. Noticing this has made me obsessed with the only chubby legs I have left – those on my baby N. I couldn’t stop taking pictures of his sweet chubbiness, knowing that too soon those legs will grow long and thin and all signs of baby-ness in this family will be gone.

chubby-legs.jpg

Hi Chubby!

On a completely unrelated crafty note, I finished knitting this wiggly worm scarf for the boys. It’s from Knitting Pretty, a great book for a beginner like me.

wiggly-worm.jpg

AAAAAAAAK!

I cut the eyes out of a scrap of wool that I felted myself in the kitchen sink. I really like the feel of rubbing the wool and watching it felt before my eyes. So far, they are staying on there pretty well even though the boys have found every possible way to mangle and yank at that poor worm. On the plus side, it’s finished size was 3 feet, but it now measures 4!

I wish you all a blessed Easter!

6 Responses to “Seasons of Change”


  1. 1 Angela April 17, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    That is a CUTE scarf!
    And those yummy legs..ahhhh, I could eat ’em up.

  2. 2 Cathy April 17, 2006 at 1:37 pm

    Sweet chubby legs!

    The snake/worm is too cute.

  3. 3 capello April 17, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Oh, yes. Griffin has lost all of his chubbiness. Now Darwin is starting to lose his…

    Oh, now I’m all misty-eyed.

  4. 4 kimberly April 18, 2006 at 12:52 pm

    Those look like my legs! 😉
    Alida did the same thing-her face has totally changed and is thining out.
    That snake is wonderful!! I need to knit something like that for Alexander. Too cool.

  5. 5 lizzie April 18, 2006 at 6:56 pm

    In our family we call that “losing their squishy”, because Katie used that term for baby fat. We can relate with your sentiments about them growing up so fast. Thankfully, Kelly still has a little squishy left in her. I love the worm; what fun!!! What a huge milestone with the bike. We did backflips over here when the two oldest took off on two wheels!!!! Way to go “T”!!!!!

  6. 6 weirdbunny April 25, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    I’ve never seen one of those before, brilliant!


Comments are currently closed.



Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives