Vehicle Quilt and Card

vehicle-quilt.jpg

I have the hardest time crafting for little boys. This was an attempt at making a boy’s quilt. I’m happy with how it turned out, but it’s really not all that original. I got some crib sheets from Target and put it all together. The nice thing about buying the sheets is that there were matcing flannel receiving blankets that I transformed into a flannel baby blanket. With some leftover fabric scraps, I sewed some strips together and fused them to the card. This was for a little guy that was born in our church. I love it when a handcrafted gift can come together like this.

Although I like Denyse Schmidt’s quilt book and her suggestions for sewing fabric on cards, I had to adapt her ideas a bit. She suggests sewing the fabric straight through the paper, but then you end up with all kinds of holes on the inside of your card. She also suggests changing out your needle after using it on paper. For me, it was easier to just sew the fabric together in strips, put some fusible backing on the back and iron it on to the card. No holes, and no changing out needles!

10 Responses to “Vehicle Quilt and Card”


  1. 1 kimberly April 18, 2006 at 12:47 pm

    What a cute set!! I know what you mean when it comes to sewing for boys-tough!

  2. 2 Angela April 18, 2006 at 1:57 pm

    Very cute gift! Both items look so great. What sort of fusible backing do you use?

  3. 3 capello April 18, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    Aha! Now I know your secret to those nifty cards you sent me! (Which are ubber-cute, btw)

  4. 4 Cathy April 18, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    Cute, cute, cute!!! And that is very clever to make fabric cards without sewing the paper.

  5. 6 norththreads April 18, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    I just came accross your blog! So adorable, cute stuff!

  6. 7 RANDI April 19, 2006 at 8:43 am

    Hmmm…I may have to try that for the cards. I didn’t like the holes on the card either–your way seems easier!

    Cute boy stuff!

  7. 8 sue b April 24, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    I did it the exact same way ! I hated the way all the holes looked on the inside.

    sueb
    http://suebthreads.blogspot.com/

  8. 9 li li April 25, 2006 at 2:05 am

    I love the card!😀

  9. 10 Amy April 26, 2006 at 7:40 pm

    Yes, I hadn’t tried those cards because I thought those holes would look bad — I hadn’t thought it through yet so thanks for doing the thinking for us!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives