Pinker than Pink Tote

poetry-tote.jpg

You might think that this looks JUST like another bag that I recently made for myself, and it sorta does, but I had a friend that liked my other one so much that after using it for a couple of months, I gave it to her. I have had this bag cut out for a couple of weeks, and was finally able to put it all together last night. It was done at 11:00, but after it was all done, I realized that I put the straps on in the WRONG spot. After another hour of seam ripping and re-sewing, I finally got it right. Could it be that the problem is that I don’t write my patterns out very well? Maybe if my pattern didn’t look like this:

tote-directions.jpg

I’d be able to figure out what I mean when I write instructions to myself. It has some pre-pieced fabric on the top and pin-tucked fabric on the bottom. Btw, I am still lovin’ pink and this pink purse is mine all mine!

8 Responses to “Pinker than Pink Tote”


  1. 1 the painted pear April 20, 2006 at 9:43 am

    Hey, that is too funny…I think it a perfect pattern, hieroglyphicy…so only you know the truth. Great bag….and may I reiterate…I want to be your friend, your neighbor. My friends don’t give me anything that nice!

  2. 2 Cathy April 20, 2006 at 9:55 am

    Haha! My notes look quite a bit like that too. I love your new bag, the colors are perfect!

  3. 3 beki April 20, 2006 at 10:13 am

    Cute, cute bag! I’m lovin’ pink too at the moment.

    My instructions aren’t too clear either, but I usually draw a sketch or diagram, so I can usually figure it out.

  4. 4 rebecca April 20, 2006 at 11:52 am

    so cute! i have problems when i sew at night sometimes — you can really see how exhaustion affects you. like last night, i was working on some peasant tops and made one mistake after another. i even told myself “you are too tired to do this right now” but did i stop?? nooooo. we crafters are an obsessive bunch, aren’t we?

  5. 5 RANDI April 20, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    Cute, cute, cute! I just ordered a Faded Memories Charm Pack and this gives me a great idea on how to use some of the fabrics! The fabrics are very similar colors.

    My patterns look very similar to yours!!!

  6. 6 kimberly April 20, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    Oh so you’re a professional translator? Me too!😉 I still adore pink. That bag is great.

  7. 7 capello April 21, 2006 at 9:34 am

    Love the pink.

    And occassional seam ripping is necessary — it makes us more proud when we don’t have to seam rip the next project!

  8. 8 weirdbunny April 25, 2006 at 3:29 pm

    Your instructions are so funny!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives