Discontinued Samples and a Skirt

I went with the boys to JoAnn’s this weekend and was thrilled to find that many of their fabric samples were discontinued and on clearance. You know – the special order samples that you have to put a deposit down on to take home. I’ve been wanting to use more decorator fabric to make purses so I really went to town mixing and matching samples together. What fun – I tried picking things I wouldn’t normally pick, since I’m trying to stretch myself past my pink, pink, pink phase.

Also this weekend, I tried sewing a skirt again. I have a really hard time sewing clothes with a pattern. I mean a really hard time. I made a couple of skirts last year using what was supposed to be an easy pattern – it never fit right, but I thought it might be time to try again – this time without a pattern.

pink-skirt-mosaic.jpg

I guess I’m happy with it. I bought skirting fabric that has the design printed on it like what you see on a skirt. I basically made a tube out of it. The tube was as tall as me so I dropped the tube in on itself so that it would have 2 layers and I wouldn’t have to wear a slip (I actually don’t own a slip). I hemmed the bottom, put in an elastic and TA-DA! A 1-seam skirt! I wore it to church today and no one asked if I made it so hopefully it looks okay – hee hee! It was a bit tight around the bottom though – I had to walk around like a geisha.

11 Responses to “Discontinued Samples and a Skirt”


  1. 1 cindi August 24, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    I noticed it and wondered. It looks good. I love the picture where you look like you are doing a Toyota commercial! I like your new fabrics. Can’t wait to see what you come up with. But I didn’t see any fabric for a kimono purse!

  2. 2 weirdbunny August 24, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    That skirt is fantastic. I can’t follow patterns either. I would so love to make clothes. I didn’t even attempt the wee wonderful pointy kitten pattern as it looked too complicated!!! In the summer I just cut and hem loads of rectange peices of fabric wrap it around my waist then hold with 2 saftey pins for sarongs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I used to add ties on straps too them, but I don’t even do that anymore just use the saftey pins!!

  3. 3 sue August 24, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    Love the skirt and the fabrics that you used, you did a great job. I have a difficult time with commercial patterns too. The latest issue of Threads magazine has a great quick to make article on a tiered boho style skirt. You might want to check it out.

  4. 4 kimberly August 24, 2006 at 5:31 pm

    Oh my how I love that skirt!!! You did a super job and the fabric is soooo pretty.
    My sister’s friend in MA was getting rid of a ton of fabric samples last year and I grabbed a bunch. I think the black ones are very similar to the ones I have. I just love those blues ones too. Our taste is so similar. Next time you go shopping, take me with you!! ;o)

  5. 5 Randi August 24, 2006 at 5:32 pm

    I love your new skirt! Great fabrics too! We went to Joannes this weekend too and all I found were some clearance pieces–I just bought a 1/2 yard of each. I really wasn’t in the mood for fabric shopping!?!

  6. 6 The Painted Pear August 24, 2006 at 5:33 pm

    What fun fabrics. The colors and patterns are fabulous.

    Love the skirt, the fabric and the no slip needed aspect! I think I have some slips, but they were my mom’s old ones. I never wear them. I guess I never wear a skirt either anymore. Too bad.

    Funny when you said you walked like a geisha!!! giggling, though I wouldn’t want you tripping up the church steps.

  7. 7 Capello August 24, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    I love that you guess you’re happy with it.

    Doesn’t a lot of projects turn out that way? Or, at least, they do for me.

  8. 8 Juliet August 24, 2006 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog last week for Randi’s Monday challenge. I’ve stopped by yours a few times and I am so impressed by your creativity! The bags and especially this skirt all look great!

    In high school I tried to sew a few shirts and even a dress for myself, but none of them fit quite right and I didn’t know how to adjust things. Maybe skipping the pattern is a start!

    Great Job!

    Jill

  9. 9 Cathy August 24, 2006 at 5:37 pm

    I love it! You did a great job.

  10. 10 Adrienne August 24, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    It looks very cute, too bad I missed seeing it at church! That fabic is soooo YOU.

    The samples are very pretty!

  11. 11 Lizzie August 24, 2006 at 5:39 pm

    OK, I’m drooling over the black and white combination of fabric…..are you surprised? I would have never guessed that you made the skirt you recently wore to church, but I’m not surprised that you are capable of making such a lovely item. What is this talent number 50? AMAZING!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives