Craft Room Art & ANOTHER Purse.

dress-form.jpg

 Look at these little wire dress forms. Aren’t they cute? They are from Pier 1 Kids. These would look so cool in my sewing room. Seriously, I think there’s a whole untapped market of craft room/sewing room art out there!

pleated-purse.jpg

Okay, considering the issues that this purse has, this is a pretty good picture. This is an idea I came up in one of those moments just before I fell asleep at night – 2 pleats in the front so that the top of the purse is smaller than the bottom. And naturally, it will curve upward at the sides. This is a prototype – the exterior worked, but I messed up on the liner. SEWING LESSON: if you want the top of the bag to curve, the LINER MUST BE CURVED AS WELL – NOT STRAIGHT. I’m going to try this style again. I think this one will go in the pile of Christmas gifts to little girls who won’t know the difference – is that wrong? Now that I’ve actually typed it, I feel like I should feel guilty about it.

11 Responses to “Craft Room Art & ANOTHER Purse.”


  1. 1 adrienne May 2, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    I bet you get it worked out quickly! That looks like my pleated purse!! Very cute!

  2. 2 capello May 2, 2006 at 8:43 pm

    Pppfffttt. Little girls won’t notice at all. In fact, I bet most adults wouldn’t notice either.

    And Pier 1 Kids? Really? There is such a thing?

  3. 3 sue b May 3, 2006 at 3:19 am

    I love those wire forms, I’m going to have to get some of those ! They’d look quite cute with a little apron or sundress on them. I like the rounded corners on the bag, makes it a very pleasing shape. Looks like it would hold a generous amount of stuff too !

  4. 4 weirdbunny May 3, 2006 at 3:53 am

    Love the fabric, anyway who care about the lining, it’s the outside people see!

  5. 5 RANDI May 3, 2006 at 9:00 am

    Cute purse (I like the pleats!) and cute craft room art–I am surprised they are in the kids department!

  6. 6 fresh produce May 3, 2006 at 9:52 am

    I was just admiring those in the catalog the other day! i think you did a great job on the purse. great design and you’ll work out all of the kinks!

  7. 7 lilymarlene May 3, 2006 at 10:32 am

    Great bag!
    I love homemade bags because you can make the lining light coloured so that you can see to find things at the bottom. Why do they make bag linings black?

  8. 8 Angela May 3, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    The bag still looks good. Learn from your mistakes, right? Those dress forms are so cute. A big market awaits some entrepeneur for sure.

  9. 9 kimberly May 3, 2006 at 1:15 pm

    Those dress forms are adorable. Now that’s something I would have bought-too cute!!
    Oh the purse is such a pretty yellow I’m sure no one will be looking for faults. Go for it.
    I’ve been a bit sick lately and I’ve been swamped with stuff to do(Alexander’s birthday on Saturday for one), so your stitch markers are going to take a minute. I hope you don’t mind.Thank goodness Christmas isn’t in July. ;o)

  10. 10 Meg May 3, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    Those tiny dress forms really are cute.

  11. 11 lizzie May 8, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    I know three little girls that would be thrilled to get a purse like that!!!! That’s not bad thinking at all.–>


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives