Gratitude Friday

I've seen "Gratitude Friday" around, and felt like doing it today, so here goes…

This week I'm thankful to God for so many things, but mostly that the spot on my sweet hubby's neck was basal cell carcinoma instead of the more dangerous melanoma. He had it completely removed on Monday and was back at work that afternoon. All that's left is a crater – smaller than a penny – on his neck – no stitches – just a crater.

My hubby grew up in Texas where the sun beats down on you like no other place I've ever lived. He played outside during the hottest part of the day and never wore sunscreen. As the weather warms up, the kids want to go out all the time and I'm scared. Scared that their pale skin is susceptible to what their dad has or worse. I'm constantly slathering on the sunscreen and telling them to dump the dirt (or whatever they've put in their hats) and put them back on their heads. They are obedient little guys, but have no idea why mommy cares.

I just can't believe that the C word (cancer) is now in our family. It seems too soon – like we're too young, but maybe it would feel this way no matter how old we were. And while I want to be responsible, I don't want to live in fear. Please Father, take the fear from me.

13 Responses to “Gratitude Friday”


  1. 1 sue b May 5, 2006 at 3:41 am

    So glad he will be ok. Once someone you love has been touched by cancer you never look at life the same way. Give your fear over to Him and let your faith give you comfort that you are doing the best you can to protect your family. And keep slathering on that sunscreen !

  2. 2 RANDI May 5, 2006 at 9:06 am

    I am so glad that all is OK!

    It is good to know that God is ultimately in charge of our lives and He knows all that is to come our way–this helps me a bit when fear wants to take over.

  3. 3 capello May 5, 2006 at 9:41 am

    I’m glad that the spot isn’t as serious as it could be.

    And, yes, cancer is very scary. Is there anything more that he needs to have done?

  4. 4 Cathy May 5, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    Oh, that is scary! I worry about all the skin in our family for the same reasons. Hub and I never used sunblock growing up in Florida, we are both at risk. We have a sunbrella just to keep our son in the shade when he is playing outside. I hope your husband’s skin problems are at an end and all is okay.

  5. 5 fresh produce May 5, 2006 at 5:19 pm

    I am thankful that all is well. I am a little lazy when it comes to sunblock, but now I will be more responsible. Thanks for coming to my garage sale!! Having another one tomorrow. See you there!!!

  6. 6 Megan May 5, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    Living in a country that has the worst skin cancer rate in the world, along with Australia, it’s a fear I know well. But, as a mother, what I have to come to is that teaching my children wisdom is one thing, but teaching them fear is another – I say that because I am such a worrier and I have passed that down somewhat. I can’t see tomorrow, and so I just trust that the One who can has my back. You know?

  7. 7 weirdbunny May 6, 2006 at 9:32 am

    How wonderful that your husband didn’t get cancer, praise the Lord. We only ever used suncream when we went to the beach as children, the awarness just wasn’t there. My poor kids get plastered in the stuff, alough my son is allergic to quite a few makes.

  8. 8 Sandrine May 6, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    I’m sooooo glad he’ll be ok ! I send you all my best wishes ever of good health ! And big belgian smooches🙂

  9. 9 Lyn May 6, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    So glad he is okay! Texas sun is hot, I can attest to that!!!!

  10. 10 kimberly May 7, 2006 at 9:05 am

    Oh my gosh!!! I’m so sorry you had to go through that. I’m very grateful it wasn’t worse.
    That’s why I made Alida a big hat with a back flap so her neck is also protected from the sun. I don’t really like how it looks but it’s protective. I’m going to go to the store and have Alexander pick out a cool fabric and make him one so he’s protected too. Go to my H is for hats post for the link to the free pattern in case you’re interested.

  11. 11 lizzie May 8, 2006 at 3:51 pm

    I am thankful that he is fine. I will pray for you, even as I pray for my own struggle between fear and faith. Thanks for sharing God’s gracious providence for your family.

  12. 12 adrienne May 11, 2006 at 3:01 pm

    Lindiepindie, I had no idea that you were so worried about it! I am so sorry. I am VERY glad that it is all okay, and all that’s left is that little crater on his neck. I worry all the time about skin and cancer too. You are right, living here we really do need to be very concious of it. I always get so upset if Cay gets burned!

    Praise God that your dear Hubby is okay!

  13. 13 Velenie Jacobs May 22, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    If ever the BCC should recur, as it is normally does 4-5 years after surgery, a bottle of curaderm-BEC5 will be always on the stand-by to come to your aid. So do not hesitate, it’s worth a try in curing your hubby’s BCC forever with zero chances of ever recurring.

    Go to the link below if you’re not really convinced about the product. The link will guide you to a video with the inventor of the cream – Dr. Bill, a very remarkable doctor illustrating how the cream works in eliminating cancer cells.

    http://easylink.playstream.com /networknewssource/calm/newskincancertreatment.wvx


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives