Hand-Me-Downs

tank-top.jpg

So, I guess ‘cuz I’m short and small, people have always given me their hand-me-downs. This happened in my family because I was the youngest, but then in high school, I started getting friend’s clothes that they had grown out of. I was glad to get clothes that belonged to other people – I didn’t always like them, but sometimes I’d get something that I had really liked seeing my friends wear, and suddenly it would me mine! So a few weeks ago, a friend from church gave me this tank top. It has lace on the top and is pretty cute, but I really can’t wear it since I don’t have the chest to fill out the scoop neck – it really just makes me look flatter, and I could never lean forward, which is really impractical for a mom. I knew she liked it because she gave it to me instead of sending it to Goodwill so I kept it in my closet.  Then later I saw a picture of a bag that reminded me of the tank top.  I started working on it, wondering if my friend would think I was a freak for cutting up her tank top and turning it into a purse for her, since it’s just not a very normal thing, you know.

tank-top-purse.jpg

I gave it to her on Sunday, and she seemed genuinely thrilled to have it!  I am SO happy with how it turned out!

22 Responses to “Hand-Me-Downs”


  1. 1 Megan May 9, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    It looks great! I love happy ever after stories, they’re much better than thrown-to-the-back-of-the-cupboard-never-to-be-seen-again stories.

  2. 2 weirdbunny May 9, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    Oh that’s amazing, how cool is that. Has she seen the bag yet??

  3. 3 Pink Rocket May 9, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    what a fabulous idea!! ooh..do i have anything like that in my closet??? ack!!

  4. 4 lera May 9, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    That is so adorable. Such great detail for a bag.

    What a great gift!!! It would have been hard to give it away.

  5. 5 Cindi May 9, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    How cute! What craft book is that from?

  6. 6 Lisa May 9, 2006 at 8:55 pm

    Yes, tell Cindi which craft book…and then I will give her a tank top. hehehe

  7. 7 sue b May 10, 2006 at 5:14 am

    LOVE IT ! The buttons down the front are perfect. A beautiful bag, perfect for warm weather months. What a great idea done exceptionally well !

  8. 8 the painted pear May 10, 2006 at 5:38 am

    That was a really nice story, and a very nice person of you. I love hearing the thought process.

    You know the grass is always greener isn’t it……I have always wanted little boobs. Mine aren’t gigantic, but never liked them. My husband does though, so that’s one thing.

  9. 9 Amanda8 May 10, 2006 at 6:38 am

    I think it is adorable! And a sweet idea!

  10. 10 Kristy May 10, 2006 at 7:30 am

    What a fantastic idea!Umm I’m sure I have a few tops somewhere:)

  11. 11 Angela May 10, 2006 at 7:35 am

    THAT IS SOOOOO WONDERFUL! ACK! I love it. How creative and brilliant of you. It really looks great.

  12. 12 fresh produce May 10, 2006 at 9:49 am

    I absolutely love it!! It’s perfect! I have an idea… you should use my booth space in Grapevine while I am gone!! Thank you again for all of the help the other night. Made your stamp, yet. The deadline is June 21st. Plenty of time!!

  13. 13 capello May 10, 2006 at 9:50 am

    That purse is adorable!

    And it’s a million time more pretty than the tank top itself.

    You’re making me want to go sew something. Happy?

  14. 14 moki May 10, 2006 at 9:56 am

    That is so cute! I am adding it to my list of things to do!

  15. 15 Cathy May 10, 2006 at 10:43 am

    Very cool! I love that you gave it back to her… I bet she will treasure it!

  16. 16 Alicia A. May 10, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    Very cute! (Yes, even better than when it was a shirt!)

  17. 17 Natalie Joy May 11, 2006 at 10:07 am

    How cute!!! I have often looked at items in the thrift store and thought it would make a good something else, like a purse or pillow. Good job!!

  18. 18 kimberly May 11, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    Oh that is just such a great idea!! Love it! You’re a great friend.

  19. 19 Lyn May 11, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    That is so cool! I would love for a friend to make something like that for me. I would be very touched!

  20. 20 e May 13, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    thanks for visiting my blog. i have seen your blog – connected to it through “lyn’s” blog.

    beautiful purses!
    e

  21. 21 quenna May 13, 2006 at 4:11 pm

    Great way of repurposing! That book looks like it has some great ideas.

  22. 22 lizzie May 13, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    Wow…that’s a lot of comments. I’m not surprised; it’s a fabulous creation. Great job!!! Can’t wait to get some of your other masterpieces tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives