Happy Mother’s Day!

portrait-of-mommy.jpg

The boys gave me their Mother’s day cards this morning and on the back of T’s there was the above picture. I asked him who it was and he said, “Mommy.” Then he pointed out the two long hairs on the side of my head and the one hair coming down from the top of my head. It was sooooo cute! So this afternoon, I made this: 

mommy-softie.jpg

Do you see the resemblance? When I showed it to T, he said, “That’s Mommy!” Then we took a picture of him and mommy (not me, the fake one). I filled the bottom with rice so it would stand up by itself. I have never been one to make softies or anything close (my sock monkey was a disaster…). This was fun, though, and believe it or not, I’m happy with it! Do you want to know the really funny part about it? I thought that the horizontal line in the drawing was supposed to be my waist…oops – T just told me it was my MOUTH! Ahhh…stupid Mommy…

On another note, Kimberly of Giving Flower and I are starting up a blog called Bagaholics Anonymous. If YOU are a bagaholic (and you know who you are), and want to post your bags to that blog as well as your own, leave a comment letting us know, and we’ll let you know how to sign up in the next few days! And because I spent SO MUCH TIME putting together this little purse mosaic for Bagaholics Anonymous, I just have to post it here as well. Behold, about a third of the bags that I’ve made in the past year…

purse-mosaic.jpg

11 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”


  1. 1 Cindi May 14, 2006 at 6:32 pm

    I could put some bags on there. I have the ones you have seen and a whole closet and rubbermaid box of them.

  2. 2 Ali May 15, 2006 at 12:54 am

    Love your mommy – it’s very true to the drawing! Beautiful bags too – I’ll check out that new blog.

  3. 3 Megan May 15, 2006 at 2:04 am

    That softie is too funny! I really like it.

  4. 4 sue b May 15, 2006 at 6:33 am

    Love the purse mosaic. Those are hard to do (at least for me) and you did a great job. And that softy is too much fun !

  5. 5 RANDI May 15, 2006 at 8:53 am

    I love your “Linda-softie”!

  6. 6 capello May 15, 2006 at 10:41 am

    Oh, bagaholics! Great name.

    And it really is an addiction, you know.

  7. 7 lera May 15, 2006 at 1:46 pm

    great bags.

    LOVE the Mommy softie! What a cute idea! (I’m too afraid to venture into softies. I’m working on getting some courage.)

  8. 8 quenna May 15, 2006 at 4:43 pm

    Great idea about the bagaholics — I just bought a new coat rack to “display” them. I love the “mommy” softie — so fun and sweet! Happy belated Mother’s Day!

  9. 9 adrienne May 16, 2006 at 2:31 pm

    That is soooooooooooooooooooo cute!!! I love it. Of course that was your mouth!🙂

  10. 10 weirdbunny May 18, 2006 at 6:47 am

    oh that’s so funny, you are always full of brilliant ideas’s!!

  11. 11 LoriLaurieLauri May 22, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    I just found your blog…I love all of your cards, purses (especially the hand-me-down tank top purse!)…but the absolute BEST has to be this Mommy Softie!!! Absolutely adorable!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives